problem with UNICODE strings in TeeChart2010

TeeChart for ActiveX, COM and ASP
Post Reply
ESRI
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 5:00 am

problem with UNICODE strings in TeeChart2010

Post by ESRI » Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:25 am

Hi,

I'm testing an Eval version of TeeChart2010 in C++ MFC UNICODE application.

1)I have a simple window with TeeChart control and I can call TeeEditor.
2)There, I go and change graph title by typing or pasting unicode (any non-Roman - Chinese, Japanese, Arabic or Cyrillic) text. It shows up in the title of the graph fine.
3)Then, I get this text string from the graph programmaticaly (ipHeader->get_Caption(&bstring))

I can see in the debugger only ?????????. If I put this string back to the graph header those question-marks will show up in the graph.
I would like to be able to get strings from graph and put them back. Any idea?

Thanks,
Alex.

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: problem with UNICODE strings in TeeChart2010

Post by Sandra » Mon Feb 21, 2011 1:04 pm

Hello Alex,

Could you try to arrange a simple example project we can run as-is to reproduce the problem here. So can try to find a good solution for you.

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

ESRI
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 5:00 am

Re: problem with UNICODE strings in TeeChart2010

Post by ESRI » Tue Feb 22, 2011 7:57 pm

Please, see uploaded project: testUnicodeTee2010Eval.zip

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: problem with UNICODE strings in TeeChart2010

Post by Sandra » Wed Feb 23, 2011 12:10 pm

Hello ESRI

Seems that your project don't attach your project testUnicodeTee2010Eval.zip, please could you attach again your project.

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

ESRI
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 5:00 am

Re: problem with UNICODE strings in TeeChart2010

Post by ESRI » Wed Feb 23, 2011 7:11 pm

It's uploaded to your server via http://www.steema.net/upload/
Can you see it?

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: problem with UNICODE strings in TeeChart2010

Post by Sandra » Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:26 pm

Hello ESRI,

I have found the file, thank you. We have made any test with your project. We'll answer you asap.

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: problem with UNICODE strings in TeeChart2010

Post by Sandra » Fri Feb 25, 2011 12:36 pm

Hello ESRI,

Please, could you check if you do the reverse as you doing now, using Set_Caption with Unicode characters-"负载转矩"- when initialize chart, also appears this -????- ?

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

ESRI
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 5:00 am

Re: problem with UNICODE strings in TeeChart2010

Post by ESRI » Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:28 pm

put_Caption works fine:

ITitlesPtr ipTitles(m_chart.get_Header());
ipTitles->put_Caption(_bstr_t(L"负载转矩"));

after calling lines above, I can see the "负载转矩" string in the title of a chart window. But if I call get_Caption right after:

BSTR bstrCaption;
ipTitles->get_Caption(&bstrCaption);

I see "?????" in Debugger for bstrCaption. Calling put_Caption immediately after will turn title on the chart to "??????"

ipTitles->put_Caption(&bstrCaption);

So, my guess would be that get_Caption somehow ruins UNICODE.

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9587
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: problem with UNICODE strings in TeeChart2010

Post by Yeray » Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:04 am

Hello ESRI,

We've reproduced it and we've found the problem in TeeChart ActiveX v2010. We've just corrected it so it will be fixed with the next maintenance release.
If you need it, we can prepare an ocx updated for you.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Post Reply