Gauge/Pie combination in 3d?
Gauge/Pie combination in 3d?
Hi,
I'm trying to make a chart that has a pie chart behind a gauge. It works fine except I can't find a way to make it appear 3d. The boss thinks the 2d look is too 'boring'. One problem is the 3d on pies appears at the bottom and i'm using a semi-pie and a gauge set at 180 degrees. When I set the 3d property, things get out of wack on the gauge, i don't think it's meant to work that way. Any insight would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Rick
I'm trying to make a chart that has a pie chart behind a gauge. It works fine except I can't find a way to make it appear 3d. The boss thinks the 2d look is too 'boring'. One problem is the 3d on pies appears at the bottom and i'm using a semi-pie and a gauge set at 180 degrees. When I set the 3d property, things get out of wack on the gauge, i don't think it's meant to work that way. Any insight would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Rick
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Hi Rick,
This is most likely because gauges don't support 3D view. I'll add your request to our wish-list to be considered for inclusion in future releases.
This is most likely because gauges don't support 3D view. I'll add your request to our wish-list to be considered for inclusion in future releases.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
Example of Graph Object
Thanks Narcis for the reply. I've attached a picture of what I'm trying to create with a TDonutSeries combined with a TGaugeSeries. There are other controls out there 'similar' to this, but I think if you could enhance your gauge series by adding tdonut or tpie into it, this could be a useful and powerful graph object. My problems currently are trying to resize the gauge object to line up the marks to the donut object, especially if I allow the ability to change 3d depth, etc. on the donut.
Thanks,
Rick
Thanks,
Rick
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Hi Rick,
Thanks for the information. I've included it to the wish-list entry.
Thanks for the information. I've included it to the wish-list entry.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
Gauge Positioning
Because the gauge doesn't support 3d, I'm trying to position the gauge up and down to line up with the 3d donut. Could you tell me what method or event I could call in the TGauge that could help me override its default positioning?
Thanks
Thanks
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Hi Octane,
You may achieve that creating your custom gauges inheriting from TGaugeSeries and overriding its DrawAllValues method.
You may achieve that creating your custom gauges inheriting from TGaugeSeries and overriding its DrawAllValues method.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
overriding DrawAllValues
I override the procedure 'DrawAllValues', but what properties do I change in order for the gauge's position to move?
Thanks,
Rick
Thanks,
Rick
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Hi Rick,
Sorry but we don't offer support for the source code.
Sorry but we don't offer support for the source code.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
Hi Rick,
in order to move the Gauge labels and ticks you will have to use the CustomXRadius and CustomYRadius properties :
Series2.CustomXRadius:=50;
Series2.CustomYRadius:=50;
in order to move the Gauge labels and ticks you will have to use the CustomXRadius and CustomYRadius properties :
Series2.CustomXRadius:=50;
Series2.CustomYRadius:=50;
Pep Jorge
http://support.steema.com
http://support.steema.com
Pep,
I did that, but they didn't line up with the TDonut when it was set to 3D look. I did find a solution, which involved overriding the DrawAllValues function, copying all the code from it, modifying the code to use the TDonut Rect by getting it with the CalcRect3D function and not using inherited so that all the drawing was with the new function. It works pretty good actually, even when zooming or changing 3d properties. Now all I need to do is get the gauge pointer to look nicer.
Thanks,
Rick
I did that, but they didn't line up with the TDonut when it was set to 3D look. I did find a solution, which involved overriding the DrawAllValues function, copying all the code from it, modifying the code to use the TDonut Rect by getting it with the CalcRect3D function and not using inherited so that all the drawing was with the new function. It works pretty good actually, even when zooming or changing 3d properties. Now all I need to do is get the gauge pointer to look nicer.
Thanks,
Rick