Getting an OS opperation failed error.

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Richard Seaby
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 4:00 am
Contact:

Post by Richard Seaby » Tue Apr 03, 2007 8:29 am

Any luck with this yet? Did you get the source code?

DJ
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 4:00 am
Location: So Cal

Work around?

Post by DJ » Tue Apr 03, 2007 7:32 pm

Hi Richard,
Narcis sent me your example code and I was able to get it to fail just now. I haven't found the root cause yet, but I have found a work around.

If you add a regular radiogroupbox to your form and populate it with at least one raidobutton, then the Chart Editor appears to work. This holds even if you make the groupbox invisible.

So a short term work around might be to add a hidden populated raidogroupbox to your form.

So it looks like an initialization issue. I'm let you knowif I find anything else.

Dan

Richard Seaby
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 4:00 am
Contact:

Post by Richard Seaby » Wed Apr 04, 2007 7:39 am

Thanks I will try that - I just migrated up to D2007 - it all still occurs - I was hoping for a miracle!

I let you know if I find any other information.

Richard

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Tue Apr 10, 2007 11:08 am

Hello Richard and Dan,

I've been testing the project and workaround Dan sent me. I can confirm that adding a TRadioGroup at run-time solves the issue:

Code: Select all

procedure TForm1.FormCreate(Sender: TObject);
var
MyRadioGroup : TRadioGroup;
begin
  MyRadioGroup := TRadioGroup.Create(Form1);
  MyRadioGroup.Visible := False;
  MyRadioGroup.ParentWindow := Form1.Handle;
  MyRadioGroup.Items.Add('as');
  MyRadioGroup.Free;
end;
Also, adding a TRadioGroup and populating it at design-time solves the issue, even adding items to the TRadioGroup button at design-time you get the OS error.

Using these workarounds, when you use TChart and TTeeCommander components in an application, openning a dialog with either a TRadioButton or a TRadioGroup doesn't make this exception appear any more.

Dan and Richard, thank you very much for your collaboration!
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Fri Apr 13, 2007 7:17 am

Hello Richard and Dan,

As an update to this issue, a received an e-mail from TMS Software saying:
We have been able to trace & solve this issue now.
We'll make an update of the radiogroup component available
that will have this fix.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Richard Seaby
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 4:00 am
Contact:

Post by Richard Seaby » Fri Apr 13, 2007 8:09 am

I would like to thank you for your help in this - it is good to get it fixed finally - I thought I was going mad!


Richard

Post Reply