IsValidDataSource is not used in TDBChartCrossTabEditor
IsValidDataSource is not used in TDBChartCrossTabEditor
The datasets is not filtered in the TDBChartCrossTabEditor
Probably something wrong in
procedure TBaseDBChartEditor.FillSources;
Any solution?
Must I change the source code?
Jørgen
Probably something wrong in
procedure TBaseDBChartEditor.FillSources;
Any solution?
Must I change the source code?
Jørgen
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Re: IsValidDataSource is not used in TDBChartCrossTabEditor
Hi Jørgen,
I'm sorry but I'm not sure which is the exact problem here. Could you please give us more detailed information and, if possible, attach a simple example project we can run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here?
Thanks in advance.
I'm sorry but I'm not sure which is the exact problem here. Could you please give us more detailed information and, if possible, attach a simple example project we can run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here?
Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
Re: IsValidDataSource is not used in TDBChartCrossTabEditor
Her is a sample
- Attachments
-
- crosstab.zip
- (27.47 KiB) Downloaded 533 times
Re: IsValidDataSource is not used in TDBChartCrossTabEditor
Hi Jørgen,
Could you please tell us the exact steps we should follow with your testing application to reproduce the problem here?
Here is what I'm getting:
Could you please tell us the exact steps we should follow with your testing application to reproduce the problem here?
Here is what I'm getting:
Best Regards,
Yeray Alonso Development & Support Steema Software Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP) | |
Please read our Bug Fixing Policy |
Re: IsValidDataSource is not used in TDBChartCrossTabEditor
You have done it correct
The problem is that all datasets are available for crosstab source.
ClientDataset2 should not be on the list.
If you try to use a dataset as source you can see that only ClientDataset1 is available.
Jørgen
The problem is that all datasets are available for crosstab source.
ClientDataset2 should not be on the list.
If you try to use a dataset as source you can see that only ClientDataset1 is available.
Jørgen
Re: IsValidDataSource is not used in TDBChartCrossTabEditor
Hi Jørgen,
We've seen that TDBChartCrossTabEditor doesn't access to IsValidDataSource because it inherits from a different class than TBaseSourceEditor.
We've also seen that setting SkipValidation as False in TDBChartCrossTabEditor.FormShow into TeeDBCrossTab.pas the problem seem to be solved.
We'll continue investigating the issue and we'll be back to you asap.
We've seen that TDBChartCrossTabEditor doesn't access to IsValidDataSource because it inherits from a different class than TBaseSourceEditor.
We've also seen that setting SkipValidation as False in TDBChartCrossTabEditor.FormShow into TeeDBCrossTab.pas the problem seem to be solved.
We'll continue investigating the issue and we'll be back to you asap.
Best Regards,
Yeray Alonso Development & Support Steema Software Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP) | |
Please read our Bug Fixing Policy |
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Re: IsValidDataSource is not used in TDBChartCrossTabEditor
Hi Jørgen,
Actually this behaviour is as designed. What causes validation being skipped is SkipValidation property. As Yeray told you, setting it to false at TDBChartCrossTabEditor.FormShow method in TeeDBCrossTab.pas does what you request.
Actually this behaviour is as designed. What causes validation being skipped is SkipValidation property. As Yeray told you, setting it to false at TDBChartCrossTabEditor.FormShow method in TeeDBCrossTab.pas does what you request.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
Re: IsValidDataSource is not used in TDBChartCrossTabEditor
Any reason why this is designed liked this?
I can change the source code, but i prefer not. Is the only solution to do this?
Jørgen
I can change the source code, but i prefer not. Is the only solution to do this?
Jørgen
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Re: IsValidDataSource is not used in TDBChartCrossTabEditor
Hi Jørgen,
I'm not 100% sure why SkipValidation was added in CrossTabSource but most likely it is to allow using Series1.DataSource = DBCrossTab, in a standard TChart, not in a TDBChart. Removing it would make necessary the use of TDBChart for DBCrossTab as DataSource.
I'm not 100% sure why SkipValidation was added in CrossTabSource but most likely it is to allow using Series1.DataSource = DBCrossTab, in a standard TChart, not in a TDBChart. Removing it would make necessary the use of TDBChart for DBCrossTab as DataSource.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
Re: IsValidDataSource is not used in TDBChartCrossTabEditor
Anyway, it is not a good solution to change the source code, it should be a setting or an event.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Re: IsValidDataSource is not used in TDBChartCrossTabEditor
Hi Jørgen,
Ok, I have added your request to the wish-list to be considered for inclusion in future releases.
Ok, I have added your request to the wish-list to be considered for inclusion in future releases.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
Re: IsValidDataSource is not used in TDBChartCrossTabEditor
I have changed the sample.
Now it removes null values from the crosstabseries.
I changed
Procedure TDBCrossTabSource.LoadDataSet;
Does this solution make sense?
Jørgen
Now it removes null values from the crosstabseries.
I changed
Procedure TDBCrossTabSource.LoadDataSet;
Does this solution make sense?
Jørgen
- Attachments
-
- crosstab.zip
- (24.58 KiB) Downloaded 512 times
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Re: IsValidDataSource is not used in TDBChartCrossTabEditor
Hi Jørgen,
TeeChart historically doesn't automatically handle null values as everybody marks and processes them in a different way so this task is left to the programmer. However, I think it would be more efficient setting points to null when adding them to the series instead of having to use series' Identifier and loop through all series twice. Something like this:
Does this solve the problem for you?
TeeChart historically doesn't automatically handle null values as everybody marks and processes them in a different way so this task is left to the programmer. However, I think it would be more efficient setting points to null when adding them to the series instead of having to use series' Identifier and loop through all series twice. Something like this:
Code: Select all
if IsNull then PointColor:=clNone
else PointColor:=clTeeColor;
if tmpPoint=-1 then
begin
tmpSeries.Add(tmpValue,tmpLabel,clTeeColor);
with Series.ParentChart do
for t:=0 to SeriesCount-1 do
if tmpSeries<>Series[t] then
if tmpSeries.Count>Series[t].Count then
for tt:=1 to (tmpSeries.Count-Series[t].Count) do
Series[t].Add(0,tmpLabel,PointColor);
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |