Trouble with CBuilder XE and TeeChart VCL 2010
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 12:00 am
Trouble with CBuilder XE and TeeChart VCL 2010
Hello,
- New laptop with Windows 7, never had any version of RAD Studio installed
- Installed RAD Studio XE
- Installed latest TeeChart Pro VCL 2010 in RAD XE with all default paths
- Rebuilt TeeChart source code with TeeRecompile
- Create new C++ Builder project
- Place a TChart on form
- Add one FastLineSeries to chart
- Access violation on the code shown below
Chart1->Series[0]->Clear();
Can you explain why? This is a completely new project, on a new laptop, so I know the problem is not old paths from previous versions or projects. I don't see how this can be about the linker. I'm using 9 or 10 other 3rd-party components written in Delphi, and I'm not having trouble with any of those.
Chart1->SeriesCount() returns the value 1, so the code above should be fine.
If TeeChart VCL 2010 has problems, is there any option to use TeeChart 8 with RAD XE?
Thanks,
Joe
- New laptop with Windows 7, never had any version of RAD Studio installed
- Installed RAD Studio XE
- Installed latest TeeChart Pro VCL 2010 in RAD XE with all default paths
- Rebuilt TeeChart source code with TeeRecompile
- Create new C++ Builder project
- Place a TChart on form
- Add one FastLineSeries to chart
- Access violation on the code shown below
Chart1->Series[0]->Clear();
Can you explain why? This is a completely new project, on a new laptop, so I know the problem is not old paths from previous versions or projects. I don't see how this can be about the linker. I'm using 9 or 10 other 3rd-party components written in Delphi, and I'm not having trouble with any of those.
Chart1->SeriesCount() returns the value 1, so the code above should be fine.
If TeeChart VCL 2010 has problems, is there any option to use TeeChart 8 with RAD XE?
Thanks,
Joe
Re: Trouble with CBuilder XE and TeeChart VCL 2010
Dear Joe,
I have the same problem. The answer I got is not very promising. You find the discussion at http://www.teechart.net/support/viewtop ... =3&t=11749.
Free
I have the same problem. The answer I got is not very promising. You find the discussion at http://www.teechart.net/support/viewtop ... =3&t=11749.
Free
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 12:00 am
Re: Trouble with CBuilder XE and TeeChart VCL 2010
Free,
Thank you for your reply. I don't understand this. The _newest_ QC issue that Narcis cites is from 2007, and the resolution for all of them is "fixed". If you read the QC reports, those who reported them say they are fixed. I've been using TeeChart since C++ Builder 3, or perhaps even C++ Builder 1, and I've _never_ had a problem like this until TeeChart VCL 2010.
Is it possible to use TeeChart VCL 8 with RAD XE until these problems are fixed?
Joe
Thank you for your reply. I don't understand this. The _newest_ QC issue that Narcis cites is from 2007, and the resolution for all of them is "fixed". If you read the QC reports, those who reported them say they are fixed. I've been using TeeChart since C++ Builder 3, or perhaps even C++ Builder 1, and I've _never_ had a problem like this until TeeChart VCL 2010.
Is it possible to use TeeChart VCL 8 with RAD XE until these problems are fixed?
Joe
Re: Trouble with CBuilder XE and TeeChart VCL 2010
Joe,
I have a similar history using TChart and also had non of these effects before. In my opinion there is something seriously wrong with the latest update of TChart. It goes even further. I tried to draw a simple line graph without success. There is no access violation but it does not draw a line either.
Regarding using TChart 8 and C++Builder XE: as far as I know it is not possible. However, I think Narcís really needs to say what's going on and suggest a solution!
Free
I have a similar history using TChart and also had non of these effects before. In my opinion there is something seriously wrong with the latest update of TChart. It goes even further. I tried to draw a simple line graph without success. There is no access violation but it does not draw a line either.
Regarding using TChart 8 and C++Builder XE: as far as I know it is not possible. However, I think Narcís really needs to say what's going on and suggest a solution!
Free
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 12:00 am
Re: Trouble with CBuilder XE and TeeChart VCL 2010
Free,
Reading the post from johnnix, I saw Narcis' suggestion to put the TeeChart paths at the TOP of the global Tools::Options::C++ paths. I did this, and it solved my access violation problem with TeeChart VCL 2010. So, this is not a C++ Builder problem. It's a linking problem.
johnnix thinks the source of the problems is a name conflict between TeeChart and other libraries.
I hope the people at TeeChart will figure this out and fix it.
Joe
Reading the post from johnnix, I saw Narcis' suggestion to put the TeeChart paths at the TOP of the global Tools::Options::C++ paths. I did this, and it solved my access violation problem with TeeChart VCL 2010. So, this is not a C++ Builder problem. It's a linking problem.
johnnix thinks the source of the problems is a name conflict between TeeChart and other libraries.
I hope the people at TeeChart will figure this out and fix it.
Joe
Re: Trouble with CBuilder XE and TeeChart VCL 2010
Joe,
It works like magic! Thanks, all problems disappeared.
Free
It works like magic! Thanks, all problems disappeared.
Free
Re: Trouble with CBuilder XE and TeeChart VCL 2010
Set both Include and Library paths, clean project, and then build again It worked!put the TeeChart paths at the TOP of the global Tools::Options::C++ paths
Thank you.
scoka
Re: Trouble with CBuilder XE and TeeChart VCL 2010
After some dances I could recompile Tee8Pro for the RAD Studio XE, so it is possible.
Re: Trouble with CBuilder XE and TeeChart VCL 2010
Has anyone found a "real" solution to this yet? I changed the order of the paths as described above - this worked for a small sample problem like Joe P. described, but I have a very large code written with an earlier version of C++ Builder, and it did not work for this (I made sure I removed all leftover bogus paths first).
JHN
JHN
Re: Trouble with CBuilder XE and TeeChart VCL 2010
Hi JHN,
We think there are two problems mixed in this thread.
One is a confusion in the paths. This is solved putting the latest TeeChart path in the top of the search and library path lists and cleaning the possible wrong references remaining in the project files manually editing the project files.
The other is the one explained here. If that's you case, debugging your application should point us to the conflictive properties.
If you could send us the problematic application or a simpler one that we can run as-is to reproduce the problem here, will be pleased to take a look at it and try to find where can be the problem.
We think there are two problems mixed in this thread.
One is a confusion in the paths. This is solved putting the latest TeeChart path in the top of the search and library path lists and cleaning the possible wrong references remaining in the project files manually editing the project files.
The other is the one explained here. If that's you case, debugging your application should point us to the conflictive properties.
If you could send us the problematic application or a simpler one that we can run as-is to reproduce the problem here, will be pleased to take a look at it and try to find where can be the problem.
Best Regards,
Yeray Alonso Development & Support Steema Software Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP) | |
Please read our Bug Fixing Policy |