On my development computer, I am using 2011.03.30407 and the footer to a chart appears fine:
but on the build server, I have 2011.04.41118 installed and the footer values overwrite each other:
It's the exact same code, just different version of TChart.
Is there a fix for this?
Ed Dressel
X Axis values overwrite
-
- Advanced
- Posts: 228
- Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 12:00 am
- Location: Oregon, USA
Re: X Axis values overwrite
Hi Ed,
I've been testing this and found that the axis labels behaviour has changed several times in v2010-2011 when you have two series with labels.
There are two problems that seem to be related because in the releases where the first problem is reproducible, the second isn't. And viceversa.
I've added it to the defect list to be revised asap (TV52016009).
I've been testing this and found that the axis labels behaviour has changed several times in v2010-2011 when you have two series with labels.
There are two problems that seem to be related because in the releases where the first problem is reproducible, the second isn't. And viceversa.
Code: Select all
//Problem #1
uses Series;
procedure TForm1.FormCreate(Sender: TObject);
var i: Integer;
begin
Chart1.View3D:=false;
Chart1.AddSeries(TFastLineSeries);
Chart1.AddSeries(TFastLineSeries);
for i:=0 to 49 do
begin
Chart1[0].AddXY(i, random, IntToStr(Chart1[0].Count));
if i mod 5 = 0 then
begin
Chart1[1].AddXY(i+0.2, random, IntToStr(Chart1[1].Count));
end;
end;
end;
Code: Select all
//Problem #2
uses Series;
procedure TForm1.FormCreate(Sender: TObject);
begin
Chart1.View3D:=false;
Chart1.AddSeries(TFastLineSeries);
Chart1.AddSeries(TFastLineSeries);
Chart1[0].AddXY(1, 2, 'test1');
Chart1[0].AddXY(2, 3, 'test2');
Chart1[1].AddXY(0, 2, 'test0');
Chart1[1].AddXY(1, 3, 'test3');
end;
Best Regards,
Yeray Alonso Development & Support Steema Software Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP) | |
Please read our Bug Fixing Policy |
-
- Advanced
- Posts: 228
- Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 12:00 am
- Location: Oregon, USA
Re: X Axis values overwrite
Thanks for the response.
This seems pretty significant to me. I have access to the source. Does Steema provide hot fixes/patches for the source?
Thank you,
Ed Dressel
This seems pretty significant to me. I have access to the source. Does Steema provide hot fixes/patches for the source?
Thank you,
Ed Dressel
Re: X Axis values overwrite
Hi Ed,
You could comment a for loop in the Procedure AxisLabelsSeries; nested in the Procedure TChartAxis.Draw(CalcPosAxis:Boolean);
This will make the Problem #1 to be solved, but note the problem #2 will then appear again.
You could comment a for loop in the Procedure AxisLabelsSeries; nested in the Procedure TChartAxis.Draw(CalcPosAxis:Boolean);
Code: Select all
for s:=0 to ISeriesList.Count-1 do
Best Regards,
Yeray Alonso Development & Support Steema Software Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP) | |
Please read our Bug Fixing Policy |
-
- Advanced
- Posts: 228
- Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 12:00 am
- Location: Oregon, USA
Re: X Axis values overwrite
Does Steema provide hotfixes for bugs?
Re: X Axis values overwrite
Hi Ed,
Usually not. Only if we find a bug is enough critical to justify it we can prepare new installers.
But being source code customer, the explanation of the modification above should be enough, isn't it? We can also send the affected files if the customer interested has the sources.
Usually not. Only if we find a bug is enough critical to justify it we can prepare new installers.
But being source code customer, the explanation of the modification above should be enough, isn't it? We can also send the affected files if the customer interested has the sources.
Best Regards,
Yeray Alonso Development & Support Steema Software Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP) | |
Please read our Bug Fixing Policy |
-
- Advanced
- Posts: 228
- Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 12:00 am
- Location: Oregon, USA
Re: X Axis values overwrite
How does a bug, such as this, rank where the X axis is non-readable?Yeray wrote:Usually not. Only if we find a bug is enough critical to justify it we can prepare new installers.
For me to modify your source would mean I would have to get an understanding of your source--I really don't have time for that. I would much prefer showing me which unit(s) and method(s) need to be modified and how.Yeray wrote:But being source code customer, the explanation of the modification above should be enough, isn't it? We can also send the affected files if the customer interested has the sources.
Re: X Axis values overwrite
Hi Ed,
I recommend you to be aware at this forum, our RSS news feed, twitter and facebook accounts for new release announcements and what's implemented on them.
In the TeEngine.pas shipped with the v2011.04, the line to comment/remove is the line number 5450 that should be a for entry:
I've added it as "Serious" so its priority in quite high in the list but the time until we can fix it also depends on other variables such as the complexity of the problem, the study of the possible collateral damages, the number of issues with even higher priority that claims our team attention,...TestAlways wrote:How does a bug, such as this, rank where the X axis is non-readable?
I recommend you to be aware at this forum, our RSS news feed, twitter and facebook accounts for new release announcements and what's implemented on them.
Excuse me if my previous reply wasn't detailed enough.TestAlways wrote:For me to modify your source would mean I would have to get an understanding of your source--I really don't have time for that. I would much prefer showing me which unit(s) and method(s) need to be modified and how.
In the TeEngine.pas shipped with the v2011.04, the line to comment/remove is the line number 5450 that should be a for entry:
Code: Select all
for s:=0 to ISeriesList.Count-1 do
Best Regards,
Yeray Alonso Development & Support Steema Software Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP) | |
Please read our Bug Fixing Policy |