Page 1 of 1
GDI+, sub charts and blurry lines
Posted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 1:50 pm
by 16564986
when I create sub chart they always use the ugly gdi+ canvas, with the anti alias making the lines fat and blurry. Can I turn off the anti alias, or reset the sub chart to the gdi?
The axis line go from a clear black single pixel wide line to about 3 pixel wide grey blur.
I have set the option for new charts to be GDI - but it does not seem to effect the sub charts
Thanks for any help you can give
Richard
Re: GDI+, sub charts and blurry lines
Posted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 2:01 pm
by yeray
Hi Richard,
That's strange. By default, with GDI+ selected (as per default) as "Render" option at the "New Chart" tab in the "Options..." dialog opened from the contextual menu at design time:
- GDI+Selected.png (48.57 KiB) Viewed 7435 times
I get GDI+ Charts, both at the parent chart and at the subchart:
- GDI+.png (40.45 KiB) Viewed 7042 times
However, if I open again the options dialog and select GDI as "Render" option at the "New Chart" tab, still at design time:
- GDISelected.png (48.02 KiB) Viewed 7370 times
And I drop another chart to the same form, I see GDI in both the chart and the subchart:
- GDI.png (48.02 KiB) Viewed 7033 times
Re: GDI+, sub charts and blurry lines
Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 2:58 pm
by 16564986
why is the GDI+ rendering so poor? it is always blurry - even if I take of the anti alias - thing like the points are blurry as are the tick marks - is this something in your control? Can I disable GDI+ completely?
I have a large number of small points to show - it looks poor even on my 23 inch monitor and even worse on a laptop!
Re: GDI+, sub charts and blurry lines
Posted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 9:02 am
by yeray
Hi Richard,
Richard wrote:why is the GDI+ rendering so poor? it is always blurry - even if I take of the anti alias - thing like the points are blurry as are the tick marks -
Antialias has some controversy. Some may find it give smoother lines and curves, while some may find it's blurry.
Richard wrote: is this something in your control? Can I disable GDI+ completely?
You should be able to go back to GDI as mentioned
above.
Alternatively, you can force it at runtime with:
Code: Select all
uses Series, TeCanvas;
procedure TForm1.FormCreate(Sender: TObject);
begin
Chart1.Canvas:=TTeeCanvas3D.Create;
end;