I'm using the CandleStick series type, and I set the UpCloseColor to Transparent, which is how many financial charts display Candles.
I set the DownCloseColor, the HighLowPen color, the Outline color, and the Pointer.Pen.Color to the color of the series which usually gives me the effect I'm looking for.
The problem is that when zoomed out so that the Open and Close are very close together, all that shows up is the vertical line for the high/low. It is not drawing the outline around the body of the candle.
Is there a way around this?
Thanks!
Candles not drawing correctly.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Hi TMac,
I'm not able to reproduce the issue here using code below and latest TeeChart for .NET v3 maintenance release. Could you please modify the code or send us a simple example project we can run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here and let us know the TeeChart version you are using?
You can post your files at news://www.steema.net/steema.public.attachments newsgroup or at our upload page.
Thanks in advance.
I'm not able to reproduce the issue here using code below and latest TeeChart for .NET v3 maintenance release. Could you please modify the code or send us a simple example project we can run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here and let us know the TeeChart version you are using?
Code: Select all
public Form1()
{
InitializeComponent();
InitializeChart();
}
private void InitializeChart()
{
tChart1.Aspect.View3D = false;
Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Candle candle1 = new Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Candle(tChart1.Chart);
candle1.Style = Steema.TeeChart.Styles.CandleStyles.CandleStick;
candle1.UpCloseColor = Color.Transparent;
candle1.DownCloseColor = candle1.Color;
candle1.HighLowPen.Color = candle1.Color;
candle1.OutLine.Color = candle1.Color;
candle1.Pen.Color = candle1.Color;
candle1.FillSampleValues();
}
Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
Try the following code. If you maximize the window, you'll see that every other bar shows up as just a vertical line with no horizontal line at all. Using the Magnifier in Vista, you can see that there is clearly no horizontal line.
Code: Select all
TChart1.Aspect.View3D = False
Dim candle1 As Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Candle = New Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Candle(TChart1.Chart)
candle1.Style = Steema.TeeChart.Styles.CandleStyles.CandleStick
candle1.UpCloseColor = Color.Transparent
candle1.DownCloseColor = candle1.Color
candle1.HighLowPen.Color = candle1.Color
candle1.OutLine.Color = candle1.Color
candle1.Pen.Color = candle1.Color
For i As Integer = 0 To 100
If i Mod 2 = 0 Then
candle1.Add(i, 500, 2000, 450, 1500)
Else
candle1.Add(i, 1124, 1130, 1120, 1125)
End If
Next
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Hi TMac,
Thanks for the information. I could reproduce what you reported but I don't think it is a bug. I think it's just that every second candle range is two narrow compared to higher candle scale. If you zoom in the chart you'll see candle bars being drawn.
Thanks for the information. I could reproduce what you reported but I don't think it is a bug. I think it's just that every second candle range is two narrow compared to higher candle scale. If you zoom in the chart you'll see candle bars being drawn.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
I agree that the reason it is not showing is because the area is so narrow, but if you change the UpCloseColor to Black it will show up.
I've seen this happen in my real app at times when the scale is not as big as I made it in this example. For example, if you make the high really high and the low really low, but the open and the close almost the same, then it won't draw the horizontal line. This means the user has no idea where the bar opened and closed at.
Is there a way to force it to draw the border around the open and close line even though it is tight. That seems to be the step that is being skipped, otherwise I would be able to see it, right?
Thanks,
T-Mac
I've seen this happen in my real app at times when the scale is not as big as I made it in this example. For example, if you make the high really high and the low really low, but the open and the close almost the same, then it won't draw the horizontal line. This means the user has no idea where the bar opened and closed at.
Is there a way to force it to draw the border around the open and close line even though it is tight. That seems to be the step that is being skipped, otherwise I would be able to see it, right?
Thanks,
T-Mac
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Hi T-Mac,
I've added your request to our wish-list to be reviewed and enhanced for next releases. There's no workaround I can think of at the moment.
I've added your request to our wish-list to be reviewed and enhanced for next releases. There's no workaround I can think of at the moment.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |