Debugging TeeChart
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:00 am
Debugging TeeChart
I just loaded up my project that contains TeeChart instances and I find that some of my charts now will not load, instead giving me a bunch of error messages where the chart would normally be. I have no idea what has happened. The messages look like this:
System.FormatException: Input string was not in a correct format.
at System.Number.StringToNumber(String str, NumberStyles options, NumberBuffer& number,
...
and so on
How can I possibly find out what has happened? How do I debug this?
Thanks,
Jon
System.FormatException: Input string was not in a correct format.
at System.Number.StringToNumber(String str, NumberStyles options, NumberBuffer& number,
...
and so on
How can I possibly find out what has happened? How do I debug this?
Thanks,
Jon
Re: Debugging TeeChart
Hello jonsberndt,
Please,you could send us a simple example project, we run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here, and so we can debug your code and try to solve your problem. Now, you can attach projects directly in the forums post.
Thanks.
Please,you could send us a simple example project, we run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here, and so we can debug your code and try to solve your problem. Now, you can attach projects directly in the forums post.
Thanks.
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:00 am
Re: Debugging TeeChart
I don't think that I will be able to do that.Sandra wrote:Hello jonsberndt,
Please,you could send us a simple example project, we run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here, and so we can debug your code and try to solve your problem. Now, you can attach projects directly in the forums post.
Thanks.
I am using TeeChart Update Build 2 (2.0.3309.32489).
I can use TeeChart fine in a new project. But, in my existing project that is over two years old, where I have updated my TeeChart component from the previous version to the new version (32489), I am having problems.
I can place a new TChart component on my form. However, when I select to Edit the chart, then click on the "Add" button to add a series, the series editor pops up and then goes away immediately.
I have removed the reference to the older TeeChart.dll file from my project and replaced it with the newer one.
Why would I not be able to add a series?
Jon
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:00 am
Re: Debugging TeeChart
When I try and add a series to a chart using the chart "Series" property (by selecting that property in the property browser and selecting "Add" in the series collection editor), I get an error message box:
Invalid Argument=Value of '-1' is not valid for 'index'. Parameter name: index
Invalid Argument=Value of '-1' is not valid for 'index'. Parameter name: index
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Re: Debugging TeeChart
Hi jonsberndt,
You could try closing all your project's forms, checking that TeeChart.dll reference has been correctly set to the new version, close the project, remove its "bin" and "obj" folders, load the project and try building it again.
You could try closing all your project's forms, checking that TeeChart.dll reference has been correctly set to the new version, close the project, remove its "bin" and "obj" folders, load the project and try building it again.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:00 am
Re: Debugging TeeChart
Unfortunately, the proposed solution had no effect. I still cannot add a series to my TeeChart components that have been dropped on a form in my existing project.
What are the reasons that the series dialog might open (it just flashes onscreen) before closing immediately? The error message is also not helpful - merely pointing out that in index is "-1".
Our project has been rendered useless and our delivery schedule has been missed, so trying to fix this is now my top, emergency, priority.
Thanks,
Jon
What are the reasons that the series dialog might open (it just flashes onscreen) before closing immediately? The error message is also not helpful - merely pointing out that in index is "-1".
Our project has been rendered useless and our delivery schedule has been missed, so trying to fix this is now my top, emergency, priority.
Thanks,
Jon
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Re: Debugging TeeChart
Hi Jon,
It's very difficult for us being able to help you on this without being able to reproduce the issue here. It would be very helpful if you could attach a simple project we can run "as-is2 to reproduce the problem here and try to find a solution to it.
Something else you can check is compare how your TChat controls are serialized in the problematic application an how they are serialiazed in a new project which works fine. You could do the same with form's *.resx files.
It's very difficult for us being able to help you on this without being able to reproduce the issue here. It would be very helpful if you could attach a simple project we can run "as-is2 to reproduce the problem here and try to find a solution to it.
Something else you can check is compare how your TChat controls are serialized in the problematic application an how they are serialiazed in a new project which works fine. You could do the same with form's *.resx files.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:00 am
Re: Debugging TeeChart
I agree - it may end up that I have to send you a copy of our application, although that's difficult for me to do at the moment.Narcís wrote:Hi Jon,
It's very difficult for us being able to help you on this without being able to reproduce the issue here. It would be very helpful if you could attach a simple project we can run "as-is2 to reproduce the problem here and try to find a solution to it.
I am so absolutely perplexed. I've never seen this problem with TChart before, ever.Narcís wrote:Something else you can check is compare how your TChat controls are serialized in the problematic application an how they are serialiazed in a new project which works fine. You could do the same with form's *.resx files.
Jon
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:00 am
Re: Debugging TeeChart
OK, now I *am* seeing this problem in a fresh application. I am using MSVC# Express 2008, with .NET 3.5. I have created a new project, and placed a TChart component on the form (TChart 2.0.2987.19069). I select to "Edit" the TChart on the form menu, and then select the "Add" button to add a series. The series editor flashes momentarily and goes away.
Am I using incompatible MSVC IDEs? Incompatible versions of .NET? Would that cause the problem?
Would it be possible or advisable for me to consider trying a demo version of the latest TChart version?
Am I using incompatible MSVC IDEs? Incompatible versions of .NET? Would that cause the problem?
Would it be possible or advisable for me to consider trying a demo version of the latest TChart version?
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Re: Debugging TeeChart
Hello jonsberndt,
The only similar issue I can remember is this one:
http://www.teechart.net/support/viewtop ... f=4&t=4996
Please notice it has 2 pages. It ended up being a VS2005 bug which was fixed in a service pack. I wonder if it will be a similar case, that bug was reproducible without using TeeChart too as I described in MSDN feedback.
The only similar issue I can remember is this one:
http://www.teechart.net/support/viewtop ... f=4&t=4996
Please notice it has 2 pages. It ended up being a VS2005 bug which was fixed in a service pack. I wonder if it will be a similar case, that bug was reproducible without using TeeChart too as I described in MSDN feedback.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:00 am
Re: Debugging TeeChart
I'll look into it, but yesterday when I suspected it might be a Visual Studio problem I downloaded and installed MSVC# Express 2008 and am using that, as I mentioned above. Do TChart products work with MSVC# 2008 Express? How about .NET 3.5? What are the limitations of TChart v2?Narcís wrote:Hi vijay,
As an update to this issue, Visual Studio 2005's Service Pack 1 seems to have solved the issue as you can see here.
Can you please test if this solves the issue at your end?
Thanks in advance.
Should I download a demo of the latest TChart version and try that out?
Jon
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Re: Debugging TeeChart
Hi Jon,
Our posts have crossed, I already replied to that here:
http://www.teechart.net/support/viewtop ... 722#p41722
Our posts have crossed, I already replied to that here:
http://www.teechart.net/support/viewtop ... 722#p41722
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:00 am
Re: Debugging TeeChart
I have tried the v3 demo version and it appears that this version works. I'll have to test it a bit more, but I can add series using the series editor once again.Narcís wrote:Hi Jon,
Our posts have crossed, I already replied to that here:
http://www.teechart.net/support/viewtop ... 722#p41722
Jon
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:00 am
Re: Debugging TeeChart
We'd like to have our testers try out the beta copy of our application using the v3 TeeChart. If that works out, we may upgrade to that. But, it would also give us time to debug the problems we are having with the v2 TeeChart. Is that approach OK?
Jon
Jon
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Re: Debugging TeeChart
Hi Jon,
Yes, that's fine for us. However, notice that current TeeChart for .NET version is 2009 (v4). You can download the evaluation version here:
http://www.steema.com/downloads/form_tch_net.html
Yes, that's fine for us. However, notice that current TeeChart for .NET version is 2009 (v4). You can download the evaluation version here:
http://www.steema.com/downloads/form_tch_net.html
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |