Bar Series problem

TeeChart for Microsoft Visual Studio .NET, Xamarin Studio (Android, iOS & Forms) & Monodevelop.
Post Reply
UserLS
Advanced
Posts: 247
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 12:00 am

Bar Series problem

Post by UserLS » Tue Mar 08, 2011 7:28 pm

I just loaded new release of TChart 2010 and noticed a few problems. Here is my bar series ones:

a. I have a vertical bar series. Width is set to 100%. If stack is set to None or Stacked then my bars are "touching" each other (which is correct behavior), but if stack is set to Side, then there is a gap between all the bars (which is new). It would not be a huge problem, but we have users who have set up their graphs a certain way and hate when something like this changes without any reason.

b. Now I have horizontal bar series. Again, width is set to 100%. Int this scenario changing between stack options does not make any difference (which is good). But I had added another horizontal bar series and set stack to Side... It is completely broken!

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Bar Series problem

Post by Sandra » Wed Mar 09, 2011 11:11 am

Hello UserLs,
a. I have a vertical bar series. Width is set to 100%. If stack is set to None or Stacked then my bars are "touching" each other (which is correct behavior), but if stack is set to Side, then there is a gap between all the bars (which is new). It would not be a huge problem, but we have users who have set up their graphs a certain way and hate when something like this changes without any reason.
You are right. I have added your request in bug list report with number [TF02015434]. We will try to fix it to future maintenance releases of TeeChart.Net
b. Now I have horizontal bar series. Again, width is set to 100%. Int this scenario changing between stack options does not make any difference (which is good). But I had added another horizontal bar series and set stack to Side... It is completely broken!
I could reproduce your problem here and I have added it in bug list report with number [TF02015435]. We will try to fix it to future maintenance releases of TeeChart.Net.

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Bar Series problem

Post by Sandra » Mon Mar 28, 2011 1:36 pm

Hello UserLs,

Could you please, tell us how do you expect that property stack side behave and in which version are you consider that it behave correct?

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

UserLS
Advanced
Posts: 247
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 12:00 am

Re: Bar Series problem

Post by UserLS » Fri Apr 01, 2011 3:07 am

First of all, I'd like vertical and horizontal bars act the same way. So, if there should be a gap between bars, it should be in both implementations.
Second, I do not expect any gaps between bars, if I set width to 100% (and this is how it was in previous versions we used starting from Delphi versions 4 through 6, and .NET versions 3, 4 and 2010 build from April.) In general, if Stack is set to side, I would not mind to have gaps between groups of bars (if there are more than 1 series), but it is not something I'd be looking for. The biggest problem for us is that the existing bars (with one series and stack is set to Side) are changing without any reason. This means that our users will need to revisit each and every graph in their report library to verify, that it is still OK. I understand that there are cases, when there is no other choice, but I do not think this should be the case.

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Bar Series problem

Post by Sandra » Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:43 am

Hello UserLs,

Thanks for your information. We think that in last version of TeeChart.Net Stack Side the behaviour is correct, so we have considered that in version 3 and firsts version 4 there are an incongruity that you can see when put BarWidthPercent to 99, behaves as last maintenance release. Take a look in next code for check it using version 3 or version 2010 of April:

Code: Select all

         Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Bar Series1, Series2, Series3;
        private void InitializeChart()
        {
            tChart1.Aspect.View3D = false;
            Series1 = new Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Bar(tChart1.Chart);
            Series2 = new Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Bar(tChart1.Chart);
            Series3 = new Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Bar(tChart1.Chart);

            Series1.FillSampleValues(5);
            Series1.BarWidthPercent = 99;
            Series2.FillSampleValues(5);
            Series2.BarWidthPercent = 99;
            Series3.FillSampleValues(5);
            Series3.BarWidthPercent = 99;
            Series1.MultiBar = Steema.TeeChart.Styles.MultiBars.Side;
        }
We fixed it in last version of TeeChart.Net. If you are interested in have the same affect that in version 3 I recommend change offsetPercent as you want, so you have the width of bar equals. You can do something as do in next code:

Code: Select all

teema.TeeChart.Styles.Bar Series1, Series2, Series3;
        private void InitializeChart()
        {
            tChart1.Aspect.View3D = false;
            Series1 = new Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Bar(tChart1.Chart);
            Series2 = new Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Bar(tChart1.Chart);
            Series3 = new Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Bar(tChart1.Chart);
            Series1.FillSampleValues(5);
            Series1.BarWidthPercent = 100;
            Series2.FillSampleValues(5);
            Series2.BarWidthPercent = 100;
            Series3.FillSampleValues(5);
            Series3.BarWidthPercent = 100;
            Series1.MultiBar = Steema.TeeChart.Styles.MultiBars.None;
            Series1.OffsetPercent = -30;
            Series2.OffsetPercent = -15;
            Series3.OffsetPercent = 30;
        }

Could you please, tell us if previous code works as you expected?

I hope will helps.

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Post Reply