Diagram with microseconds resolution

TeeChart for Microsoft Visual Studio .NET, Xamarin Studio (Android, iOS & Forms) & Monodevelop.
Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Diagram with microseconds resolution

Post by Sandra » Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:31 am

Hello Florian,
The other thing is: without the actual resolution of one microsecond, we will not use this feature. And since you have not given me any suggestion how to work around that, I guess (hope) this will be included in the next release! So I am prepared to wait for that.
Thanks Florian, as I said in previous post we are working with it in order to find good answer for you.

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

FT_GIAG
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 12:00 am

Re: Diagram with microseconds resolution

Post by FT_GIAG » Mon Feb 06, 2012 12:29 pm

Hi Sandra

How are you coming along with the solution to my problems? Any preview on what to expect and when?

Thanks
Florian

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Diagram with microseconds resolution

Post by Sandra » Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:43 pm

Hello Florian,
The first one is that if I have steps of exactly one microsecond, the spaces between the points are not equally distributed.
Sorry for the delay. After do many test, we have added your problem in wish-list with number [TF02016022]. We will consider its inclusion in next maintenance releases of TeeChart.Net.

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

FT_GIAG
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 12:00 am

Re: Diagram with microseconds resolution

Post by FT_GIAG » Wed Feb 08, 2012 7:52 am

Good Morning Sandra

Thanks for this news. Let's hope it will make it in the next maintenance releases!

What about the labels? Are they included in the same whish-list item, or is it going to be another one?

Regards
Florian

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Diagram with microseconds resolution

Post by Sandra » Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:50 am

Hello FT_GIAG,

I have some information about your problems, so, after do many test we have arrived a conclusion, the issue is with range there is incompatiblity between Int64 and Double that is, a Double cannot represent a very large or very small Int64 value that's why the chart can't paint some of these points properly, and that's why when working with microseconds we have to use a specific technique, similar is used in the next code:

Code: Select all

// One Tick is 100 ns
// So one microsecond is 10 Ticks
private const long ticksPerMicroSecond = 10;
private const long tickMultiplier = 10000;

private void InitMicrosecond()
{
Points points = new Points();

DateTime today = DateTime.Today;
DateTime labels = DateTime.Today;

for (int i = 1; i < 50; i  )
{
today = today.AddTicks(ticksPerMicroSecond * tickMultiplier);
labels = labels.AddTicks(ticksPerMicroSecond);
 points.Add(today, i, labels.ToString("dd.MM.yyyy\nHH:mms.ffffff"));
}

points.Pointer.Style = Steema.TeeChart.Styles.PointerStyles.Triangle;

chart1.Series.Add(points);
chart1.Header.Text = "Space unequally distributed";
} 
Previous code works fine for me when I have checked in your project, so I recommend use it to solver your problems.
Therefore, we consider the bug with number[TF02016022] is not really a bug. Or, if it's a bug, it's a bug with the .net framework's double value, so the teechart code is working by as it was designed to work in this instance.

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

FT_GIAG
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 12:00 am

Re: Diagram with microseconds resolution

Post by FT_GIAG » Fri Feb 10, 2012 4:09 pm

Hallo Sandra

Well, with this simple example it works fine, but in real-use we normally have an array of DateTime, often spread over several days... so just multiplying them is not that easy.

But how about you would change your conversion in the Utils class (double DateTime(DateTime value) and DateTime DateTime(double value)) so we could at least use the whole precision of a double? Or even better, you would offer us an "adapter", so we would be able to implement these converters ourselves? Then we would have the possibility to define our own DateTime format which serves our needs best.
What do you think about that?

Regards
Florian

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Diagram with microseconds resolution

Post by Sandra » Tue Feb 14, 2012 2:53 pm

Hello Florian,

Ok. I have add it in wish-list to be consider for next versions of TeeChart.net. On the other hand, you need know that if you want Steema offers the possibility to buy the source code. I think It would be very helpful for you, so, you can implement your requirements or enhancements as you want. If you are interested with source code of TeeChart, I suggest send an email to Sales Dept. at sales at steema dot com to get more information about it.

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

FT_GIAG
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 12:00 am

Re: Diagram with microseconds resolution

Post by FT_GIAG » Wed Feb 15, 2012 8:25 am

Hi Sandra

Have you opened a new ticket, or is it the same number you gave me earlier?

Regards
Florian

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Diagram with microseconds resolution

Post by Sandra » Wed Feb 15, 2012 4:16 pm

Hello Florian,

Sorry I have forgotten it. The number of feature request is [TF02016036].

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

moelski.net
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 12:00 am

Re: Diagram with microseconds resolution

Post by moelski.net » Wed Apr 09, 2014 12:21 pm

Hi !

I know this topic is from 2012 but anyway ... it is important for us, too!

I figured out that there is a OADate conversation in TChart.net. This kills the micro second part. :(
Is there any progress on this topic?
It would such a simple change to get rid of these OADate Conversations and replace it with something better working.

Dominik

Christopher
Guru
Posts: 1603
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:00 am

Re: Diagram with microseconds resolution

Post by Christopher » Wed Apr 09, 2014 1:43 pm

moelski.net wrote: It would such a simple change to get rid of these OADate Conversations and replace it with something better working.
Could you please give us an example of the simple change you have in mind?
Best Regards,
Christopher Ireland / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Post Reply