Page 1 of 1
Pie charts - border
Posted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 9:55 pm
by 14045174
This is another thing which was broken in the latest build of version 3: try to make pie series' border visible!
Re: Pie charts - border
Posted: Mon Nov 09, 2009 10:39 am
by 10050769
Hello UserLs,
I could reproduce your problem with last version 3. But I couldn't reproduce in last version 4, because in this version of TeeChart.Net works fine. I have added your issue in wish-list with number [TF02014541], we will try to fix it for next versions of TeeChart.Net.
Thanks,
Re: Pie charts - border
Posted: Mon Nov 09, 2009 3:20 pm
by 14045174
I do not own version 4. We did pay for 10 seats for the version 3, just to find out that it was released in a very broken state! Even now we have a long list of issues, which I have no idea if you are going to try to resolve. At this point of time I am not sure, if I want to spend another big chunk of money to upgrade all our licenses to version 4 - there is no sign you are going to try to make it releasable as well. Your wish list (or bug tracking system) is a joke - you are adding my problems to a list, even give me a tracking number, but there is no way to track it or get an idea when it will be addressed! Except wait and hope, that in the next release notes it will be included (but not necessarily fixed - I had this experience as well!) It looks like you do not have any QA system in place as well - by fixing one thing you break 2 others. The last time you've broke the installer, for example. I still have no idea, how can I install the last release of version 3 (without messing up with my file system an registry - I should not HAVE TO DO IT!) And it was left like this for about a month by now! So, please, tell me, when and what your are planning to fix in version 3 (you can find all my issues reported in this forum. In one of the posts I even put the list together. Please, ignore all my problems with your chart editor - I gave up on it and now we have our own, which our users will actually be able to use). I really need to know, if you have a plan to fix version 3. Another question, if I do upgrade to version 4 - is there any guarantee, this version will be releasable? And I am talking about basic functionality (nothing fancy), like pie chart borders, axis labels, access violations, etc.
Re: Pie charts - border
Posted: Mon Nov 09, 2009 8:14 pm
by Marc
Hello,
Re.
I really need to know, if you have a plan to fix version 3.
Yes. We do not suggest here that you need to move to v2009 to see this issue resolved. With regards our plans to resolve any outstanding issues with TeeChart for .NET v3 please see my last post on this subject:
http://www.teechart.net/support/viewtop ... 424#p43634
Re.
Your wish list (or bug tracking system) is a joke
! I am sorry if there has been a misunderstanding. Steema doesn't offer a bug-tracking system, rather issues a bug id that may be used to identify that issue in subsequent documentation/conversation. A bugfix log with id is recorded in release notes. An example may be seen here:
http://www.steema.com/files/public/teec ... elease.txt
Re.
Another question, if I do upgrade to version 4 - is there any guarantee, this version will be releasable?
If you would like to evaluate TeeChart for .NET v2009's suitability for your requirements, you could download a fully functional evaluation version from the customer download page. We would be pleased to respond on any observations you might wish to make.
Re.
Even now we have a long list of issues
At our last review I had seen the remaining issue list to be quite small. We'll recap the issues to be sure of status. As I mentioned in my previous post, feedback on priority would be useful for us to be able to assign order for any issue that might remain outstanding.
Regards,
Marc Meumann
Re: Pie charts - border
Posted: Fri Dec 04, 2009 9:25 am
by 10050769
Hello UserLs,
I'm communicating that bug
TF02014541 has been fixed now. Please notice that TeeChart for .NET applies ColorEach to series' Brush and Pen. Therefore it's necessary to set ColorEach to false so that pie slices use manually defined Pen.Color, for example:
Code: Select all
Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Pie pie1 = new
Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Pie(tChart1.Chart);
pie1.FillSampleValues();
pie1.ColorEach = false;
pie1.Pen.Color = Color.Red;
Also, if you set a specific color for each slice it will prevail over series' color.
Thanks,
Re: Pie charts - border
Posted: Fri Dec 04, 2009 2:24 pm
by 14045174
I am not following you at all... So far, setting ColorEach to false on a pie chart would produce a pie with all the slices using the same color (which you really do not want)! And, for example, if I have a bar series and set its ColorEach to true, it actually has borders, which are slightly darker than the bar's color (which looks great!) So, why pie chart cannot do the same thing?
Re: Pie charts - border
Posted: Fri Dec 04, 2009 2:40 pm
by narcis
Hi UserLS,
I am not following you at all... So far, setting ColorEach to false on a pie chart would produce a pie with all the slices using the same color (which you really do not want)!
That means that even though ColorEach is set to false, if you populate a Pie series with a specific color for each slice it will prevail over series' color, for example:
Code: Select all
Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Pie pie1 = new Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Pie(tChart1.Chart);
pie1.ColorEach = false;
pie1.Add(5, Color.Blue);
pie1.Add(7, Color.Red);
pie1.Add(2, Color.Yellow);
pie1.Pen.Color = Color.Red;
And, for example, if I have a bar series and set its ColorEach to true, it actually has borders, which are slightly darker than the bar's color (which looks great!) So, why pie chart cannot do the same thing?
Yes, this happens when ColorEach=true, for example:
Code: Select all
Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Pie pie1 = new Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Pie(tChart1.Chart);
pie1.FillSampleValues();
pie1.ColorEach = true;
Re: Pie charts - border
Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:11 am
by narcis
Hi UserLS,
Please note a new TeeChart for .NET v3 update build has been posted. At the link below you'll find the corresponding announcement and release notes.
http://www.teechart.net/support/viewtop ... =4&t=10583
Re: Pie charts - border
Posted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:16 pm
by 14045174
While you did fix the problem, reported here, I see another really strange behavior. And this one applies to all series types (as I can see). So, make your borders a few pixels thick (like 4-5), select line type to be anything, but solid. Now set your border.Visible = false... In my world visible = false means "not there at all", not "there, but use different color".
Re: Pie charts - border
Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 9:51 am
by yeray
Hi UserLS,
I'm not sure to see the behaviour you are observing. I've tried with the following code but it looks fine to me:
Code: Select all
Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Pie pie1;
private void InitializeChart()
{
pie1 = new Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Pie(tChart1.Chart);
pie1.FillSampleValues(10);
pie1.Pen.Width = 3;
checkBox1.Checked = tChart1.Aspect.View3D;
checkBox2.Checked = pie1.Pen.Visible;
}
private void checkBox1_CheckedChanged(object sender, EventArgs e)
{
tChart1.Aspect.View3D = checkBox1.Checked;
}
private void checkBox2_CheckedChanged(object sender, EventArgs e)
{
pie1.Pen.Visible = checkBox2.Checked;
}
Re: Pie charts - border
Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 6:30 pm
by 14045174
Ok, here is the same pie chart with border visible and not:
- Pie chart - Borders.jpg (13.89 KiB) Viewed 14044 times
By the way, why the setting of line type applies only to the dividing lines and legend symbols, while the width is applied to all borders?
Re: Pie charts - border
Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 9:11 am
by yeray
Hi UserLS,
Thanks for the explanation and the pics. Yes, it seems that the external pie border doesn't use the defined pie pen style. I've added it to the wish list to be improved in future releases (TF02014602).
The following code reproduces the issue:
Code: Select all
Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Pie pie1 = new Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Pie(tChart1.Chart);
pie1.FillSampleValues(10);
pie1.Pen.Width = 4;
pie1.Pen.Style = System.Drawing.Drawing2D.DashStyle.Dash;