Page 1 of 1
Axis Breaks and corrupt axis labels
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 1:50 pm
by 15658113
Hello,
I am using the AxisBreak tool to mask out certain areas of my chart on the x-axis using multiple axis breaks, each with GapSize = 30. In most cases the axis breaks mess up my x-axis labels and it seems that multiple labels get overdrawn then (see image attachment)... Is there any way to avoid this?
Thanks in advance
Philipp
Re: Axis Breaks and corrupt axis labels
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 1:57 pm
by narcis
Hi Philipp,
Can you please attach a simple example project we can run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here? A general option could be using custom axis labels as in the All Features\Welcome !\Axes\Labels\Custom labels example at the features demo available at TeeChart's program group.
Thanks in advance.
Re: Axis Breaks and corrupt axis labels
Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2012 12:05 pm
by 15658113
Hi NarcĂs,
The problem occurs with different gapsizes and x-axis ranges... I could reproduce the problem with the following small sample application:
Code: Select all
[MainForm.Designer.cs]
namespace GuiTestbench
{
partial class MainForm
{
/// <summary>
/// Required designer variable.
/// </summary>
private System.ComponentModel.IContainer components = null;
/// <summary>
/// Clean up any resources being used.
/// </summary>
/// <param name="disposing">true if managed resources should be disposed; otherwise, false.</param>
protected override void Dispose(bool disposing)
{
if (disposing && (components != null))
{
components.Dispose();
}
base.Dispose(disposing);
}
#region Windows Form Designer generated code
/// <summary>
/// Required method for Designer support - do not modify
/// the contents of this method with the code editor.
/// </summary>
private void InitializeComponent()
{
this.tChart1 = new Steema.TeeChart.TChart();
this.fastLine1 = new Steema.TeeChart.Styles.FastLine();
this.axisBreaksTool = new Steema.TeeChart.Tools.AxisBreaksTool();
this.SuspendLayout();
//
// tChart1
//
//
//
//
//
//
//
this.tChart1.Axes.Depth.LabelsAsSeriesTitles = true;
//
//
//
this.tChart1.Axes.DepthTop.LabelsAsSeriesTitles = true;
this.tChart1.Dock = System.Windows.Forms.DockStyle.Fill;
this.tChart1.Location = new System.Drawing.Point(0, 0);
this.tChart1.Name = "tChart1";
this.tChart1.Series.Add(this.fastLine1);
this.tChart1.Size = new System.Drawing.Size(886, 465);
this.tChart1.TabIndex = 0;
this.tChart1.Tools.Add(this.axisBreaksTool);
//
// fastLine1
//
this.fastLine1.Color = System.Drawing.Color.FromArgb(((int)(((byte)(68)))), ((int)(((byte)(102)))), ((int)(((byte)(163)))));
this.fastLine1.ColorEach = false;
//
//
//
this.fastLine1.LinePen.Color = System.Drawing.Color.FromArgb(((int)(((byte)(68)))), ((int)(((byte)(102)))), ((int)(((byte)(163)))));
this.fastLine1.Title = "fastLine1";
this.fastLine1.TreatNulls = Steema.TeeChart.Styles.TreatNullsStyle.Ignore;
//
//
//
this.fastLine1.XValues.Order = Steema.TeeChart.Styles.ValueListOrder.Ascending;
//
// axisBreaksTool
//
this.axisBreaksTool.Axis = this.tChart1.Axes.Bottom;
this.axisBreaksTool.GapSize = 5;
this.axisBreaksTool.ScaleAdjustment = 1E-07D;
//
// MainForm
//
this.ClientSize = new System.Drawing.Size(886, 465);
this.Controls.Add(this.tChart1);
this.Name = "MainForm";
this.Load += new System.EventHandler(this.MainForm_Load);
this.ResumeLayout(false);
}
#endregion
private Steema.TeeChart.TChart tChart1;
private Steema.TeeChart.Styles.FastLine fastLine1;
private Steema.TeeChart.Tools.AxisBreaksTool axisBreaksTool;
}
}
[MainForm.cs]
using System;
using System.Windows.Forms;
using Steema.TeeChart.Tools;
namespace GuiTestbench
{
public partial class MainForm : Form
{
public MainForm()
{
InitializeComponent();
}
private void MainForm_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)
{
fastLine1.FillSampleValues();
var axisBreak = new AxisBreak(axisBreaksTool)
{
Enabled = true,
StartValue = 8,
EndValue = 10,
Style = AxisBreakStyle.Line
};
}
}
}
Re: Axis Breaks and corrupt axis labels
Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 2:17 pm
by 10050769
Hello Pilipp P.
The problem of overlaping of AxisBreaks can be solved of many ways,e.g:
1.- Changing the size of GapSize, adapting it to your labels space.
2.- Changing the scale of Axes.
3.- Changing the angle of labels.
4.- Using custom labels, etc.
Basically, you need treat this problem as you treat anyone of problems to overlap as do in this
thread.
I hope will helps.
Thanks,