Multiple custom horizontal axes
Multiple custom horizontal axes
I am having multiple horizontal axes for displaying multiple independent curve data with different units on the x axis. The idea is to have only one horizontal axis visible at the time but multiple curve data visible at the same time. This means that some of the data visible is related to x values on invisible axes. The values on the x axes are real numbers.
The grid lines are visible but no labels are visible. So, what to do?
By accident I realized that if I set the property OtherSide on the axes, it shows exactly as I want with labels and all except that the axis is located as the OtherSide property states, on the other side. Sigh...
The grid lines are visible but no labels are visible. So, what to do?
By accident I realized that if I set the property OtherSide on the axes, it shows exactly as I want with labels and all except that the axis is located as the OtherSide property states, on the other side. Sigh...
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Hi tekwiz,
This is most likely because of you set the axes being invisible. What you should do is making all axes visible but setting them all in the same position so that they overlap in the way of a unique axis.
This is most likely because of you set the axes being invisible. What you should do is making all axes visible but setting them all in the same position so that they overlap in the way of a unique axis.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
Thankyou for the quick reply.
But, if I make all axes visible, all labels/Titles/grids will be visible too. So this will create a major mess with all labels stacked upon eachother.
So what I want is:
- All horizontal axes is on the same position
- Only one axis visible at a time, with all labels for that axis visible, but no other labels or titles.
- all data related to all axes visible at the same time.
- easily switch the visible axis.
thanks
But, if I make all axes visible, all labels/Titles/grids will be visible too. So this will create a major mess with all labels stacked upon eachother.
So what I want is:
- All horizontal axes is on the same position
- Only one axis visible at a time, with all labels for that axis visible, but no other labels or titles.
- all data related to all axes visible at the same time.
- easily switch the visible axis.
thanks
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Hi tekwiz,
Not necessarily, you can make grid lines, ticks, title, etc. not being visible for all axes. This can be done either at design-time or a at run-time.But, if I make all axes visible, all labels/Titles/grids will be visible too. So this will create a major mess with all labels stacked upon eachother.
You could make visible the bottom axis of the series you are pointing with the mouse using series or tchart events or select which axis to display using buttons, etc.So what I want is:
- All horizontal axes is on the same position
- Only one axis visible at a time, with all labels for that axis visible, but no other labels or titles.
- all data related to all axes visible at the same time.
- easily switch the visible axis.
Yes, you can post your projects at [url]news://www.steema.net/steema.public.attachments[/url] newsgroup.Is it possible for me to post code that illustrates the behaviour?
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
Hi and thanks again for the quick reply.
My problem is not how to make the axis visible(I think) it is just that when I make them visible, the labels does not show up, unless otherside is true, which I do not want it to.
I post a solution and example code now, please look at the code and tell me what is wrong.
My problem is not how to make the axis visible(I think) it is just that when I make them visible, the labels does not show up, unless otherside is true, which I do not want it to.
I post a solution and example code now, please look at the code and tell me what is wrong.
firewall problems
It seems that our company firewall blocks NNTP traffic, is it possible for me to email the source (582 kB zipped) ?
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Hi tekwiz,
Yes, you can send it directly to me. However, what do you think about my suggestions?
Yes, you can send it directly to me. However, what do you think about my suggestions?
Last edited by Narcís on Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Hi tekwiz,
I've received your example and reproduced what you reported. It has an easy solution, just add the following statements to your project:
This is a behaviour we are aware of and it isn't a bug as only applies to custom axes which position has to be customized.
I've received your example and reproduced what you reported. It has an easy solution, just add the following statements to your project:
Code: Select all
tChart1.Panel.MarginUnits = PanelMarginUnits.Pixels;
tChart1.Panel.MarginBottom=25;
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Hi tekwiz,
You're welcome! I'm glad to hear this fits your needs.
You're welcome! I'm glad to hear this fits your needs.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |