Page 1 of 1
License Problem
Posted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 2:33 pm
by 14046718
Hi,
My ASP.NET C# application works fine on my development machine, but when moving it to a Windows 2003 server for deployment I get this messsage:
"An instance of type 'Steema.TeeChart.Chart' was being created, and a valid license could not be granted for the type 'Steema.TeeChart.Chart'. Please, contact the manufacturer of the component for more information. "
What causes this and how do I correct it?
I'm using TeeChart 3, .Net 2.0, IE 6.0, Visual Studio 2005.
thanks,
Rich
Posted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 2:59 pm
by narcis
Hi Rich,
Most likely your project is not built with TeeChart's license file built in as an embedded resource. Please read
this thread about the same issue.
Thanks in advance.
Posted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 3:15 pm
by 14046718
Not sure if this is the case.
Guess I should have mentioned this - I was able to move the app successfully to the Windows 2003 server before., i.e. wasn't getting this license error. I've only be getting this error since I did the following on my development box:
1) Updated to the November maintenance release of TeeChart 3.5
2) Backed out the November release and reinstalled the prior release.
(still having issues with November release)
I suppose this was the cause but I'm not sure how to rectify it.
thanks,
Rich
Posted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 3:29 pm
by narcis
Hi Rich,
In that case you may need to check TeeChart's AssemblyFolders settings in the development machine. For more information about this please read
this thread.
If this doesn't help you may also want to check if designtime license is correctly installed in the development machine. To do so you can use TeeRegv3 tool available at the client download area.
Thanks in advance.
Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 5:34 pm
by 14046718
NarcĂs,
I have done the following:
> Edited the registry on my development machine and deleted the entry mentioned in the thread you directed me to.
> ran the utility executable you mentioned.
> Re-installed the maintenance relase of TeeChart .NET
> deleted references to TeeChart in Solution Explorer, then placed them back.
> copied the new app and .dll's to my production server
I checked after every step - and each time was still geting the " a valid license could not be granted" message.
SO,
> I unistalled Steema Teechart.NET from my development PC using Windows "Add/Remove software" from control Panel
> Manually deleted the c:\Program Files\Steema folder
> Manually deleted every instace of TeeChart.dll form my pc.
THEN
> Re-installed TeeChart .NET 3.5 from the original CD we purchased
> Ran the maintenance release installation
> added references back in solution explorer
> rebuilt solution in Visual Studio
> deleted folder on Windows 2003 server and re-created it
> copied all the solution files - including TeeChart.dll to windows 2003 server
> Reset my app in IIS on prodcution Server
STILLL GETTING " a valid license could not be granted " error!!!
What am I missing???
thanks much,
Rich
Resolved
Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 6:56 pm
by 14046718
UGH! I fixed the issue finally. The license.licx file I was using (taken from c:\Program Files\Steema Software\utils had this single entry:
Steema.TeeChart.TChart, TeeChart
Apparently this was the issue. I am building a web app - not a form based app.
I found another license.licx file in C:\Program Files\Steema Software\TeeChart for .NET v3\Examples\Web\TeeChartNET
which had this entry:
Steema.TeeChart.Web.WebChart, TeeChart
I included this file and things seemed to work.
NOTE: The tuorial help - chapter 17 - says
" In the case of a non-designtime Chart application, for example where the Chart is manually created at runtime as
"Steema.TeeChart.Chart c = new Steema.TeeChart.Chart();"
, then you must manually add the licenses file to the project, an example file that you may use is included in the Utils folder. You can add it by selecting the project in the VS.NET Solution Explorer and right mousebutton clicking for 'Add | AddExisting Item' with File type 'All files' and selecting 'Utils\Licenses.Licx'. "
This is where I got confused. Further down in your documentation there is mention that this file may need to be edited for web apps.
Seems like I didin't have to do this on previous installs....
But - it's working now.
thanks,
Rich