Page 1 of 1
Gauges in asp.net do not work properly
Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 8:00 am
by 13046512
Hi, I a web user control with circular gauge and worked beautifully; however, all of sudden it doesn't work anymore. The web page goes into an infinite loop with cpu at 100%.
I tried recreating the control again and got same problem.
I am using HttpHandler to create the graph. I already tried using Session and got same problem. I tried enabling trace but it's impossible to do anything once the cpu goes to 100%, all I can do is close the web page and kill the asp_net.
I continued to try debugging it from a windows forms so I created the design I wanted and when I run the form the colors don't match the design. Looks like this control has a few bugs in it.
Another problem I saw in windows form editor is that when I clicked on the Series tab to edit the gauge, the edit window automatically closed.
Anyway, my main problem is creating a gauge in ASP.NET.
I am using TeeChart.dll version 3.5.3188.18562.
Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 9:25 am
by narcis
Hi rudy,
I am using TeeChart.dll version 3.5.3188.18562.
First of all please notice that there's a newer version available at the client area. You may want to try uninstalling your current version and installing now one to check if it solves any of those issues at your end.
Hi, I a web user control with circular gauge and worked beautifully; however, all of sudden it doesn't work anymore. The web page goes into an infinite loop with cpu at 100%.
I tried recreating the control again and got same problem.
I am using HttpHandler to create the graph. I already tried using Session and got same problem. I tried enabling trace but it's impossible to do anything once the cpu goes to 100%, all I can do is close the web page and kill the asp_net.
I couldn't reproduce this using latest TeeChart for .NET v3 release. If the problem persists could you please send us a simple example project we can run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here.
You can either post your files at news://
www.steema.net/steema.public.attachments newsgroup or at our
upload page.
I continued to try debugging it from a windows forms so I created the design I wanted and when I run the form the colors don't match the design. Looks like this control has a few bugs in it.
I could reproduce this here. Green Line, Face and Frame brushes didn't work. OTOH, Red Line and Hand brushes worked fine. I've added this defect (TF02013620) to the list to be fixed for next releases.
Another problem I saw in windows form editor is that when I clicked on the Series tab to edit the gauge, the edit window automatically closed.
I'm not able to reproduce this either. Can you please check if problem persists with current version? If it it does please let us know the exact steps we should follow to reproduce the issue here.
Thanks in advance.
Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 11:40 am
by 13046512
Hi NarcĂs, thanks for your quick reply.
I figured out the reason why the program goes into an infinite loop. It has to do with the range of my gauge. Since my program sets these ranges at runtime based on user settings, one of those settings was from 0 to 1 million so that is causing the program to go into an infinite loop.
I will try the new version to check the other bugs.
Thanks,
Rudy.
Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 7:12 pm
by 13048314
Another problem I saw in windows form editor is that when I clicked on the Series tab to edit the gauge, the edit window automatically closed.
I'm not able to reproduce this either. Can you please check if problem persists with current version? If it it does please let us know the exact steps we should follow to reproduce the issue here.
I discovered how to make this happen when trying to configure a centre-zero gauge.
I can make it do this by setting the gauge's minimum value to a negative number. I have to do this using the Series Collection Editor (via Visual Studio's property editor) because the TeeChart Editor doesn't allow negative numbers to be set. Having set it to a -ve number, when I open the TeeChart Editor, clicking on the Series tab makes the editor disappear!
I'm using V3.5.3225.32185.
Posted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 8:47 am
by narcis
Hi KeithH,
Thanks for the information. I could reproduce this here now. I've added the issue to the defect list (TF02013641) to be investigated.