Marks on a pie chart

TeeChart for Microsoft Visual Studio .NET, Xamarin Studio (Android, iOS & Forms) & Monodevelop.
Post Reply
UserLS
Advanced
Posts: 247
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 12:00 am

Marks on a pie chart

Post by UserLS » Mon Jan 26, 2009 3:59 am

I can reproduce this one just by using your editor. Create a pie chart and fill it with random data. Make sure marks are visible. You will see, that most likely 2, but 1 slice for sure will have no mark next to it. Only if one of the values is 0, then all the marks are visible (except for the missing slice with 0 value).

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Post by Sandra » Mon Jan 26, 2009 10:42 am

Hi UserLS!

Thanks for your information. We knew the issue. This is putting as bug report [TF02013775] and We moddified for new versions of TeeChart .Net



Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos



Steema Support Central
http://support.steema.com

UserLS
Advanced
Posts: 247
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 12:00 am

Post by UserLS » Mon Jan 26, 2009 10:47 am

I am using the latest (Dec 19th) version... Or, you mean, it is fixed in upcoming release? That is great!!! BTW, do you know, when the next release of TChart .NET v3 is coming out?

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Mon Jan 26, 2009 11:18 am

Hi UserLS,

No, this is a known issue we will try to fix for the next maintenance release. We expect it to be out at the end of this week.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Wed Jan 28, 2009 9:59 am

Hi UserLS,

Please see my update on the issu here:

http://www.teechart.net/support/viewtop ... 7222#37222

Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

UserLS
Advanced
Posts: 247
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 12:00 am

Post by UserLS » Thu Jan 29, 2009 4:07 am

You would never guess this one!
Ok, I have my pie with marks and arrows are set to solid arrow head (those nice fancy arrows). Now, how do I control, what color they are drawn with? Well, it depends... If marks.symbol.shadow is visible (the connection is so obvious!) - then arrows are using the marks.symbol.shadow.color. If the shadow is not visible, then the arrows are painted with the color of previous slice! Priceless! Can you please explain this one? And seriously, what it supposed to be? And by the way, even though Pointers is available option here - it does nothing for the pie series.

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Thu Jan 29, 2009 11:13 am

Hi UserLS,

I may not understand which is the exact problem. However, I can't reproduce it here using this code:

Code: Select all

		public Form1()
		{
			InitializeComponent();
			InitializeChart();
		}

		private void InitializeChart()
		{
			Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Pie pie1 = new Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Pie(tChart1.Chart);

			pie1.Marks.Callout.Visible = true;
			pie1.Marks.Symbol.Visible = true;
			pie1.Marks.Symbol.Shadow.Visible = true;
			pie1.Marks.Symbol.Shadow.Color = Color.Red;
			pie1.FillSampleValues();

			tChart1.Legend.Visible = false;
		}
Could you please modify it so that we can reproduce the problem here?

Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

UserLS
Advanced
Posts: 247
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 12:00 am

Post by UserLS » Thu Jan 29, 2009 2:12 pm

Well, actually I was just playing inside of your editor... But the code will be something like:

Code: Select all

            pie.Marks.Callout.ArrowHead = ArrowHeadStyles.Solid;
            pie.Marks.Callout.ArrowHeadSize = 10;
            pie.Marks.Callout.Brush.Color = Color.Black;
            pie.Marks.Callout.Distance = 1;
            pie.Marks.Callout.Draw3D = false;
            pie.Marks.Callout.Length = 21;
            pie.Marks.Symbol.Visible = true;
Now watch those arrows! If

Code: Select all

            pie.Marks.Symbol.Shadow.Visible = true;
they are happily using that shadow.color. But if the shadow is not visible - then they are using color from the previous slice (and the first one is hollow as far as I can tell).

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Thu Jan 29, 2009 2:42 pm

Hi UserLS,

Thanks for the information. I could consistenly reproduce this using this code:

Code: Select all

		public Form1()
		{
			InitializeComponent();
			InitializeChart();
		}

		private void InitializeChart()
		{
			Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Pie pie = new Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Pie(tChart1.Chart);

			pie.Marks.Callout.ArrowHead = Steema.TeeChart.Styles.ArrowHeadStyles.Solid;
			pie.Marks.Callout.ArrowHeadSize = 10;
			pie.Marks.Callout.Brush.Color = Color.Black;
			pie.Marks.Callout.Distance = 1;
			pie.Marks.Callout.Draw3D = false;
			pie.Marks.Callout.Length = 21;
			pie.Marks.Symbol.Visible = true;
			pie.Marks.Symbol.Shadow.Color = Color.Red;
			//pie.Marks.Symbol.Shadow.Visible = true; 

			pie.FillSampleValues();

			tChart1.Legend.Visible = false; 
		}
You'll see it's independent to Marks.Symbol.Shadow being visible or not. I've added the defect to the bug list (TF02013794) to be fixed.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

UserLS
Advanced
Posts: 247
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 12:00 am

Post by UserLS » Thu Jan 29, 2009 2:49 pm

Well, if you use your editor - it is dependent on that shadow's visible state. BTW, where in the editor I am supposed to be able to change that color? I could not find it nor in the editor neither in the property grid in the designer.

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Thu Jan 29, 2009 2:52 pm

Hi UserLS,

Yes, you can go to Series -> Marks -> Symbol -> Color button.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

UserLS
Advanced
Posts: 247
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 12:00 am

Post by UserLS » Thu Jan 29, 2009 2:59 pm

But this does not make any sense. First, I will not even expect to be able to set up color on a symbol - it is whatever color the slice (or series) is, so why do you even have it there? And how do I know, that to change the arrow's color I need to go to symbol page and change a color of a completely different object (which in theory should not even have this setting)? And to get this nice effect of "ColorEach" I again go to the symbol page and make its shadow (which I do not need) visible? Does it make sense to you?

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:08 pm

Hi UserLS,

Sorry, I meant Series -> Marks -> Symbol -> Shadow -> Color button.

No, it doesn't make sense to me. As I already told you I think this is a bug that needs to be fixed.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Post Reply