CLR debuggin services: can't find cordbg.exe

TeeChart for Microsoft Visual Studio .NET, Xamarin Studio (Android, iOS & Forms) & Monodevelop.
Post Reply
j-o-l
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 12:00 am

CLR debuggin services: can't find cordbg.exe

Post by j-o-l » Tue Aug 01, 2006 11:24 am

Hi,

I'm getting an exception when testing my Windows Forms project (with TChart) on my other laptop which does not have Visual Studio/.NET SDK installed. When I test a Windows Forms project with one blank form everything works fine, but when I add TChart component to it and build that project I get the following message (when running it on that other computer):
Application has generated an exception that could not be handled... and when I click "cancel" it says: Registered JIT debugger is not available.. error code 0x2.
But that project works on the computer on which I built it..
I have deployed TeeChart.dll with it and included licenses.licx to that project.

Any idea what might be causing this?

Thanks in advance

Christopher
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1349
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Riudellots de la Selva, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Christopher » Tue Aug 01, 2006 11:28 am

Hello,

Did you build the project in Debug mode or Release mode?
Thank you!

Christopher Ireland (Steema crew)
Please be aware of the newsgroup archives:
http://www.teechart.net/support/search.php
http://groups.google.com
http://codenewsfast.com/

j-o-l
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 12:00 am

Post by j-o-l » Tue Aug 01, 2006 11:55 am

I tried both. With same results..

Chris wrote:Hello,

Did you build the project in Debug mode or Release mode?

Christopher
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1349
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Riudellots de la Selva, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Christopher » Tue Aug 01, 2006 2:35 pm

Hello,

Do you get the error without a reference to teechart in your project?

The error sounds very similar to this one:
http://groups.google.com/group/microsof ... eedc9194cd
Thank you!

Christopher Ireland (Steema crew)
Please be aware of the newsgroup archives:
http://www.teechart.net/support/search.php
http://groups.google.com
http://codenewsfast.com/

j-o-l
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 12:00 am

Post by j-o-l » Wed Aug 02, 2006 8:39 am

Hi,

I made two Windows Forms test projects: first with simple blank form and second with empty TChart component on that otherwise empty form. Both worked on my computer where VS is installed but second did'nt work on other computers where VS is not installed (I've tried it on 4 different comps, one with Windows XP and others with 2000 Professional, all had .NET framework installed). I also tried installing VS and TeeChart on other computer and built those test projects again (both release & debug modes) but that didn't help (they ran fine on that computer, with VS installed, but problem remained on other comps).

In each case the error was that previously mentioned exception/debugger thing..

I'm using Visual C++.NET 2003 (version 7.1.3088).

Christopher
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1349
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Riudellots de la Selva, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Christopher » Wed Aug 02, 2006 10:10 am

Hello,

Did you read the thread I gave you a link to? Did the suggestions there help?
Thank you!

Christopher Ireland (Steema crew)
Please be aware of the newsgroup archives:
http://www.teechart.net/support/search.php
http://groups.google.com
http://codenewsfast.com/

j-o-l
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 12:00 am

Post by j-o-l » Wed Aug 02, 2006 10:23 am

I haven't yet tried that remote debuggin cause I don't see how those test projects could cause any exceptions to be thrown but I guess I'll have to do that to see which exception it is..
I coudn't find any Virtual Window Managers installed on those comps.
Chris wrote:Hello,

Did you read the thread I gave you a link to? Did the suggestions there help?

Christopher
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1349
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Riudellots de la Selva, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Christopher » Wed Aug 02, 2006 10:31 am

Hello,

Another thing .. which version of TeeChart are you using? You're not using one of the non-Production Debug builds, are you (see Customer Download page for details) ?
Thank you!

Christopher Ireland (Steema crew)
Please be aware of the newsgroup archives:
http://www.teechart.net/support/search.php
http://groups.google.com
http://codenewsfast.com/

j-o-l
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 12:00 am

Post by j-o-l » Wed Aug 02, 2006 11:55 am

I had installed TeeChart using TeeChartNET2VSNET2003 installer, so it shouldn't be a debug version. I re-installed it now (downloaded it again from customers downloads) but it didn't help..
Chris wrote:Hello,

Another thing .. which version of TeeChart are you using? You're not using one of the non-Production Debug builds, are you (see Customer Download page for details) ?

j-o-l
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 12:00 am

Post by j-o-l » Wed Aug 02, 2006 1:16 pm

I haven't yet been able to install remote debugger since VC2003 Standard seems to be lacking documentation on how to install remote components only (refers to RemoteComponents.htm which should be on the CD but it isn't...), and if I install whole VC2003 then that test project starts working normally (no exception is thrown).

Any other ideas on how to solve this?

Christopher
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1349
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Riudellots de la Selva, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Christopher » Wed Aug 02, 2006 2:44 pm

Hello,
I haven't yet been able to install remote debugger since VC2003 Standard seems to be lacking documentation on how to install remote components only (refers to RemoteComponents.htm which should be on the CD but it isn't...), and if I install whole VC2003 then that test project starts working normally (no exception is thrown).

Any other ideas on how to solve this?
I'm afraid not, at least not at the moment. Why don't you write to the MSDN forums to ask about installation of VC2003 remote components?
Thank you!

Christopher Ireland (Steema crew)
Please be aware of the newsgroup archives:
http://www.teechart.net/support/search.php
http://groups.google.com
http://codenewsfast.com/

j-o-l
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 12:00 am

Post by j-o-l » Thu Aug 03, 2006 5:45 am

Hi,

it seems to be that Standard version of VC doesn't support remote debugging .

That exception is thrown after executing the following row:

this->tChart1 = new Steema::TeeChart::TChart();

Exception details:

Message: "Object reference not set to an instance of an object"
Source: TeeChart
StackTrace:
at Steema.TeeChart.FrAccessProvider.GetLicense(LicenseContext context, Type type, Object instance, Boolean allowExceptions)
at System.ComponentModel.LicenseManager.ValidateInternalRecursive(LicenseContext context, Type type, Object instance, Boolean allowExceptions, License& license, String& licenseKey)
at System.ComponentModel.LicenseManager.ValidateInternal(Type type, Object instance, Boolean allowExceptions, License& license)
at System.ComponentModel.LicenseManager.Validate(Type type, Object instance)
at Steema.TeeChart.Chart..ctor()
at Steema.TeeChart.TChart..ctor()
... (form1 InitializeComponent etc. follows)

Christopher
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1349
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Riudellots de la Selva, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Christopher » Thu Aug 03, 2006 7:57 am

Hello,

Yes, ok, then it is a licensing issue. This is because the VC++ compiler does not correctly link the licensing information into the exe's metadata. Try the following:

1) Execute the following command from the folder in which your executable, TeeChart.dll and licenses.licx reside:

lc /target:<Name of your Executable.exe> /complist:licenses.licx /i:TeeChart.dll

A .licenses file will be created in the same folder.

Note: If you use other licensed controls, components or classes in your application you must include a reference to EACH DLL using /i and a line in licenses.licx for every licensed class.

2) Embed this .licenses file as a resource into your executable, you can do this at linking time by using the /ASSEMBLYRESOURCE option. If you are using Visual Studio you can embed this file by going to the Linker properties and adding the reference under "Embed Managed Resource File" (Input category).
Thank you!

Christopher Ireland (Steema crew)
Please be aware of the newsgroup archives:
http://www.teechart.net/support/search.php
http://groups.google.com
http://codenewsfast.com/

Christopher
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1349
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Riudellots de la Selva, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Christopher » Thu Aug 03, 2006 8:01 am

Hello,

When you follow the steps in my last mail, make sure that when you copy the licenses.licx file into the release directory which contains the exe file that you check that it only contains:

Code: Select all

Steema.TeeChart.TChart, TeeChart
Thank you!

Christopher Ireland (Steema crew)
Please be aware of the newsgroup archives:
http://www.teechart.net/support/search.php
http://groups.google.com
http://codenewsfast.com/

Post Reply