TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
-
manfred.gahr
- Newbie
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 12:00 am
Post
by manfred.gahr » Thu Apr 24, 2008 10:54 am
Dear Steema Team,
We hit a "division by zero" error in TeeChartPro 8.02 VCL / CodeGear™ C++Builder® 2007 Version 11.0.2902.10471 in the following code:
Code: Select all
FChartSeries = new TChartSeries(Chart1);
FChartSeries->ParentChart = Chart1;
FChartSeries->AddXY(1, 1.0, "", clTeeColor);
FChartSeries->AddXY(2, 2.0, "", clTeeColor);
FChartSeries->AddXY(4, 3.0, "", clTeeColor);
//ChangeSeriesType(FChartSeries, __classid(TLineSeries)); // workaround
ChangeSeriesType(FChartSeries, __classid(TBarSeries));
The error comes up during next Paint(). Please let me know when this bug is resolved.
Thanks,
Manfred
-
Narcís
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
-
Contact:
Post
by Narcís » Thu Apr 24, 2008 11:17 am
Hi Manfred,
Thanks for reporting. I could reproduce the issue here and added it (TV52013006) to our defect list as a high priority item to be fixed for next releases.
I recommend you to be aware at this forum or our
RSS feed for new release announcements and what's been fixed on them.
BTW: Code below works fine for me here using same TeeChart version and IDE than you. I also added Series.hpp unit in the form's header and a pragma link in the form's code.
Code: Select all
void __fastcall TForm1::FormCreate(TObject *Sender)
{
TChartSeries *FChartSeries = new TChartSeries(Chart1);
FChartSeries->ParentChart = Chart1;
FChartSeries->AddXY(1, 1.0, "", clTeeColor);
FChartSeries->AddXY(2, 2.0, "", clTeeColor);
FChartSeries->AddXY(4, 3.0, "", clTeeColor);
//ChangeSeriesType(FChartSeries, __classid(TLineSeries)); // workaround
ChangeSeriesType(FChartSeries, __classid(TBarSeries));
}
-
manfred.gahr
- Newbie
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 12:00 am
Post
by manfred.gahr » Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:30 pm
Hi Narcis,
Thanks for you fast reply. The bit funny thing is that the bug seems to go away once you provide any (even empty) handler for TForm::OnCreate event.
Code: Select all
void __fastcall TMainForm::FormCreate(TObject *Sender)
{
// nothing
}
void __fastcall TMainForm::Button1Click(TObject *Sender)
{
FChartSeries = new TChartSeries(Chart1);
FChartSeries->ParentChart = Chart1;
FChartSeries->AddXY(1, 1.0, "", clTeeColor);
FChartSeries->AddXY(2, 2.0, "", clTeeColor);
FChartSeries->AddXY(4, 3.0, "", clTeeColor);
ChangeSeriesType(FChartSeries, __classid(TBarSeries));
}
Isn't is strange? Happy debugging
Best Regards,
Manfred
-
Narcís
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
-
Contact:
Post
by Narcís » Fri Apr 25, 2008 7:48 am
Hi Manfred,
Thanks for the info.
Yes, it's quite strange. It's even more strange that I can't reproduce the issue here anymore without having made any change in TeeChart sources. I must be missing something. Anyway, I've updated the information in the bug list to be reviewed.
-
manfred.gahr
- Newbie
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 12:00 am
Post
by manfred.gahr » Fri Apr 25, 2008 10:01 am
Hi Narcis,
We also have a callstack for this bug, which might be useful for you as well
Code: Select all
200091c3 +033 rtl100.bpl System @_lldiv
42253586 +00e Tee811.bpl Series TCustomBarSeries.InternalApplyBarMargin
4225421e +01a Tee811.bpl Series TBarSeries.CalcHorizMargins
422399c5 +0f1 Tee811.bpl Teengine TCustomAxisPanel.InternalDraw
4221e87e +072 Tee811.bpl Teeprocs TCustomTeePanel.Draw
4221e673 +01b Tee811.bpl Teeprocs TCustomTeePanel.Draw
4221e8c8 +020 Tee811.bpl Teeprocs TCustomTeePanel.Paint
02d27d4f +00b pvs_DaGraphic.bpl pvs_tchart.cpp 884 +2 TPVSChart.Paint
20145563 +057 vcl100.bpl Controls TCustomControl.PaintWindow
20140825 +055 vcl100.bpl Controls TWinControl.PaintHandler
20140ff8 +048 vcl100.bpl Controls TWinControl.WMPaint
201454fc +010 vcl100.bpl Controls TCustomControl.WMPaint
2013c4f3 +2bb vcl100.bpl Controls TControl.WndProc
20140673 +4fb vcl100.bpl Controls TWinControl.WndProc
2013fd9c +02c vcl100.bpl Controls TWinControl.MainWndProc
7c90f0a5 +059 ntdll.dll RtlAnsiStringToUnicodeString
7c90eae0 +010 ntdll.dll KiUserCallbackDispatcher
7e4196c2 +00a USER32.dll DispatchMessageA
201625d0 +0fc vcl100.bpl Forms TApplication.ProcessMessage
2016260a +00a vcl100.bpl Forms TApplication.HandleMessage
201628ff +0b3 vcl100.bpl Forms TApplication.Run
Hope this would bring you to a solution faster.
-
Narcís
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
-
Contact:
Post
by Narcís » Fri Apr 25, 2008 10:05 am
Hi Manfred,
Thanks for your collaboration again. Yesterday I debugged the problem using TeeChart sources and the error already showed me the exact line code where it was happening. I tried a few quick possible fixes but were not acceptable because they broke other things.
-
Narcís
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
-
Contact:
Post
by Narcís » Thu May 08, 2008 7:19 am
Hi Manfred,
Not yet. I recommend you to be aware at this forum or subscribe to our
RSS feed for new release announcements and what has been fixed on them.
-
manfred.gahr
- Newbie
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 12:00 am
Post
by manfred.gahr » Wed Sep 03, 2008 11:50 am
Dear Narcís,
RSS feed still keeps silence
Could you please let me know where we stand? This bug starts getting on the nerves of our customers.
Thanks,
Manfred
-
Narcís
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
-
Contact:
Post
by Narcís » Wed Sep 03, 2008 1:07 pm
Hi Manfred,
This issue was fixed for v8.03, which is currently in prerelease mode. A few issues need to be ironed prior to the final release. In the meantime I've sent you current version installer where the bug should be already fixed.
-
manfred.gahr
- Newbie
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 12:00 am
Post
by manfred.gahr » Thu Sep 04, 2008 6:51 am
Hi Narcís,
Thank you for a quick reply. The link that you gave me is a Delphi version of TeeChartPro, .hpp-files missing. It refuses to install on C++ Builder 2007 11.0.2902.10471 (December update). Could you please send me another one?
Thanks in advance,
Manfred
P.S: just curious to know, are you going to support Delphi/C++Builder 2009 Tiburon in version 8.03?
-
Narcís
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
-
Contact:
Post
by Narcís » Thu Sep 04, 2008 8:05 am
Hi Manfred,
Thank you for a quick reply. The link that you gave me is a Delphi version of TeeChartPro, .hpp-files missing. It refuses to install on C++ Builder 2007 11.0.2902.10471 (December update). Could you please send me another one?
This is installer should work for both Delphi and C++ Builder 2007 as RAD Studio 2007 is usually shipped with both personalities only Delphi packages are necessary. Do you only have C++ Builder personality installed? Which are the exact error messages you get?
Thanks in advance.
P.S: just curious to know, are you going to support Delphi/C++Builder 2009 Tiburon in version 8.03?
Yes, we are working on this.
-
manfred.gahr
- Newbie
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 12:00 am
Post
by manfred.gahr » Thu Sep 04, 2008 10:53 am
Hi Narcís,
I really appreciate the speed of your replies. You were right, it was just a wrong installation on my travelling laptop. Finally I managed to install TeeChartPro 8.03 prerelease, but unfortunately hit another (even more severe) bug which our customer wouldn't like for sure.
I used the same test application as in my first post, and just activated all 4 anchors for the TChart component to make in resizable. Unfortunately the whole application hangs with 100% CPU load when you try to reduce its size less than a certain amount. However it works well with an empty chart (no series).
Is it one of those glitches you wanted to iron out before final release? I can send you my code if needed.
Take Care,
Manfred
Last edited by
manfred.gahr on Thu Sep 04, 2008 11:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
-
Narcís
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
-
Contact:
Post
by Narcís » Thu Sep 04, 2008 11:28 am
Hi Manfred,
No, I don't remember this issue. Yes please, could you send a simple example project we can run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here?
You can either post your files at news://
www.steema.net/steema.public.attachments newsgroup or at our
upload page.
Thanks in advance.
-
manfred.gahr
- Newbie
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 12:00 am
Post
by manfred.gahr » Thu Sep 04, 2008 11:51 am
narcis wrote:Yes please, could you send a simple example project we can run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here?
Uploaded TeeTest803pre.zip via upload page. Application resizes nicely unless you push "Add Series" button. Please inform me weather you could reproduce a bug.