Gantt chart: number of items that appear on Y axis

TeeChart for Microsoft Visual Studio .NET, Xamarin Studio (Android, iOS & Forms) & Monodevelop.
Post Reply
pw
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:00 am

Gantt chart: number of items that appear on Y axis

Post by pw » Wed May 21, 2008 7:00 am

Hi,

I'm trying to plot a Gantt chart that can fit all the data from my datatable. I've about 40+ items that should appear on the Y-axis but only 20+ appeared.

Is there anyway that I could create some sort of scroll so that all the items can appear on the Gantt chart?

Thanks.

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Wed May 21, 2008 8:09 am

Hi pw,

Setting left axis to automatic should do:

Code: Select all

			tChart1.Axes.Left.Automatic = true;
If this doesn't help please send us a simple example project we can run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here.

You can either post your files at news://www.steema.net/steema.public.attachments newsgroup or at our upload page.

Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

pw
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:00 am

Post by pw » Wed May 21, 2008 10:27 pm

Hi Narcis,

Thanks for the info, I've added that setting (although by default, the left axis on my chart is set to auto).

My chart is docked on my windows app and if the app is not maximized, items on the Y-Axis gets dropped off. You could probably try it by plotting a Gantt chart with 50 items and if you resize the windows height, you can see items dropping off the Y-axis.

It would be preferable if the font gets smaller to squeeze all the items in or a scroll bar appearing to allow users to scroll through all the items.

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Thu May 22, 2008 8:55 am

Hi pw,

Thanks for the information but I'm not able to reproduce the issue here using code below and latest TeeChart for .NET v3 maintenance release available at the client area. Could you please modify the code and let us know the steps we should follow to reproduce the issue here? Which TeeChart version are you using?

Code: Select all

		public Form1()
		{
			InitializeComponent();
			InitializeChart();
		}

		private void InitializeChart()
		{
			Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Gantt gantt1 = new Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Gantt(tChart1.Chart);

			for (int i = 0; i < 50; i++)
			{
				gantt1.Add(DateTime.Now.ToOADate(), DateTime.Now.AddDays(1).ToOADate(), i);
			}

			tChart1.Dock = DockStyle.Fill;
		}
Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

pw
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:00 am

Post by pw » Mon May 26, 2008 6:42 am

Hi Narcis,

Thanks for the suggestions. I'm using .Net V2 (2.02987.19069).

Sorry, I mis-stated my problem earlier. The actual bar that appears on the chart didn't disappear but not all the Y-axis description appears. So, if I were to reduce the size of the window, only some of the Y-axis description will appear. I'm not sure if there's any way to force all the description to show.

Thanks.

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Mon May 26, 2008 7:17 am

Hi pw,

I'm sorry but I don't understand which is the exact problem you are having. Would you be so kind to send us a screenshot so that we can see the problem?

You can either post your files at news://www.steema.net/steema.public.attachments newsgroup or at our upload page.

Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

pw
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:00 am

Post by pw » Mon Jun 02, 2008 10:41 pm

Hi Narcis,

I've just uploaded a zip file called Gantt.zip. It contains 2 screenshots, one showing the Gantt chart when the windows form is maximized and the other when the windows form is reduced/resize.

If you look at the Y-axis, all the description (A to AD) shows up when the form is maximized, but when the form is resized smaller, some of the description disappears. Is there any way to make sure all the description will show up?

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Tue Jun 03, 2008 8:27 am

Hi pw,

By default TeeChart automatically sets axes labels to fit in given space. I'm not able to reproduce the issue here using latest TeeChart for .NET v2 release available at the client area, which is build 2.0.3033.18430. Could you please try if this version solves the problem at your end? If it doesn't help, could you please send us a simple example project we can run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here?

Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

pw
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:00 am

Post by pw » Tue Jun 03, 2008 10:27 pm

Hi Narcis,

I've changed the chart to Version 3.2.3016.15521 and the problem still persists. I've uploaded a simple project in TestGantt.zip and if you run the .exe all the description on the Y-axis will show up but if you reduce the size of the window (vertically), some of the description disappears.

Thanks.

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Wed Jun 04, 2008 8:35 am

Hi pw,

Thanks for the example project but I haven't been able to reproduce the problem here.

I'm not able to reproduce the issue here using latest v2 and v3 releases. Should I follow any specific step to reproduce it?

Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Post Reply