Debugging TeeChart

TeeChart for Microsoft Visual Studio .NET, Xamarin Studio (Android, iOS & Forms) & Monodevelop.
Post Reply
jonsberndt
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:00 am

Debugging TeeChart

Post by jonsberndt » Tue Jul 21, 2009 5:17 pm

I just loaded up my project that contains TeeChart instances and I find that some of my charts now will not load, instead giving me a bunch of error messages where the chart would normally be. I have no idea what has happened. The messages look like this:

System.FormatException: Input string was not in a correct format.
at System.Number.StringToNumber(String str, NumberStyles options, NumberBuffer& number,
...
and so on

How can I possibly find out what has happened? How do I debug this?

Thanks,

Jon

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Debugging TeeChart

Post by Sandra » Wed Jul 22, 2009 7:22 am

Hello jonsberndt,

Please,you could send us a simple example project, we run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here, and so we can debug your code and try to solve your problem. Now, you can attach projects directly in the forums post.

Thanks.
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

jonsberndt
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:00 am

Re: Debugging TeeChart

Post by jonsberndt » Wed Jul 22, 2009 4:56 pm

Sandra wrote:Hello jonsberndt,

Please,you could send us a simple example project, we run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here, and so we can debug your code and try to solve your problem. Now, you can attach projects directly in the forums post.

Thanks.
I don't think that I will be able to do that.

I am using TeeChart Update Build 2 (2.0.3309.32489).

I can use TeeChart fine in a new project. But, in my existing project that is over two years old, where I have updated my TeeChart component from the previous version to the new version (32489), I am having problems.

I can place a new TChart component on my form. However, when I select to Edit the chart, then click on the "Add" button to add a series, the series editor pops up and then goes away immediately.

I have removed the reference to the older TeeChart.dll file from my project and replaced it with the newer one.

Why would I not be able to add a series?

Jon

jonsberndt
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:00 am

Re: Debugging TeeChart

Post by jonsberndt » Wed Jul 22, 2009 7:32 pm

When I try and add a series to a chart using the chart "Series" property (by selecting that property in the property browser and selecting "Add" in the series collection editor), I get an error message box:

Invalid Argument=Value of '-1' is not valid for 'index'. Parameter name: index

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Debugging TeeChart

Post by Narcís » Thu Jul 23, 2009 1:02 pm

Hi jonsberndt,

You could try closing all your project's forms, checking that TeeChart.dll reference has been correctly set to the new version, close the project, remove its "bin" and "obj" folders, load the project and try building it again.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

jonsberndt
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:00 am

Re: Debugging TeeChart

Post by jonsberndt » Thu Jul 23, 2009 2:44 pm

Unfortunately, the proposed solution had no effect. I still cannot add a series to my TeeChart components that have been dropped on a form in my existing project.

What are the reasons that the series dialog might open (it just flashes onscreen) before closing immediately? The error message is also not helpful - merely pointing out that in index is "-1".

Our project has been rendered useless and our delivery schedule has been missed, so trying to fix this is now my top, emergency, priority.

Thanks,

Jon

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Debugging TeeChart

Post by Narcís » Thu Jul 23, 2009 2:58 pm

Hi Jon,

It's very difficult for us being able to help you on this without being able to reproduce the issue here. It would be very helpful if you could attach a simple project we can run "as-is2 to reproduce the problem here and try to find a solution to it.

Something else you can check is compare how your TChat controls are serialized in the problematic application an how they are serialiazed in a new project which works fine. You could do the same with form's *.resx files.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

jonsberndt
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:00 am

Re: Debugging TeeChart

Post by jonsberndt » Thu Jul 23, 2009 3:07 pm

Narcís wrote:Hi Jon,

It's very difficult for us being able to help you on this without being able to reproduce the issue here. It would be very helpful if you could attach a simple project we can run "as-is2 to reproduce the problem here and try to find a solution to it.
I agree - it may end up that I have to send you a copy of our application, although that's difficult for me to do at the moment.
Narcís wrote:Something else you can check is compare how your TChat controls are serialized in the problematic application an how they are serialiazed in a new project which works fine. You could do the same with form's *.resx files.
I am so absolutely perplexed. I've never seen this problem with TChart before, ever.

Jon

jonsberndt
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:00 am

Re: Debugging TeeChart

Post by jonsberndt » Thu Jul 23, 2009 3:15 pm

OK, now I *am* seeing this problem in a fresh application. I am using MSVC# Express 2008, with .NET 3.5. I have created a new project, and placed a TChart component on the form (TChart 2.0.2987.19069). I select to "Edit" the TChart on the form menu, and then select the "Add" button to add a series. The series editor flashes momentarily and goes away.

Am I using incompatible MSVC IDEs? Incompatible versions of .NET? Would that cause the problem?

Would it be possible or advisable for me to consider trying a demo version of the latest TChart version?

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Debugging TeeChart

Post by Narcís » Thu Jul 23, 2009 3:23 pm

Hello jonsberndt,

The only similar issue I can remember is this one:

http://www.teechart.net/support/viewtop ... f=4&t=4996

Please notice it has 2 pages. It ended up being a VS2005 bug which was fixed in a service pack. I wonder if it will be a similar case, that bug was reproducible without using TeeChart too as I described in MSDN feedback.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

jonsberndt
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:00 am

Re: Debugging TeeChart

Post by jonsberndt » Thu Jul 23, 2009 3:35 pm

Narcís wrote:Hi vijay,

As an update to this issue, Visual Studio 2005's Service Pack 1 seems to have solved the issue as you can see here.

Can you please test if this solves the issue at your end?

Thanks in advance.
I'll look into it, but yesterday when I suspected it might be a Visual Studio problem I downloaded and installed MSVC# Express 2008 and am using that, as I mentioned above. Do TChart products work with MSVC# 2008 Express? How about .NET 3.5? What are the limitations of TChart v2?

Should I download a demo of the latest TChart version and try that out?

Jon

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Debugging TeeChart

Post by Narcís » Thu Jul 23, 2009 3:38 pm

Hi Jon,

Our posts have crossed, I already replied to that here:

http://www.teechart.net/support/viewtop ... 722#p41722
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

jonsberndt
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:00 am

Re: Debugging TeeChart

Post by jonsberndt » Thu Jul 23, 2009 4:33 pm

Narcís wrote:Hi Jon,

Our posts have crossed, I already replied to that here:

http://www.teechart.net/support/viewtop ... 722#p41722
I have tried the v3 demo version and it appears that this version works. I'll have to test it a bit more, but I can add series using the series editor once again.

Jon

jonsberndt
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:00 am

Re: Debugging TeeChart

Post by jonsberndt » Thu Jul 23, 2009 7:45 pm

We'd like to have our testers try out the beta copy of our application using the v3 TeeChart. If that works out, we may upgrade to that. But, it would also give us time to debug the problems we are having with the v2 TeeChart. Is that approach OK?

Jon

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Debugging TeeChart

Post by Narcís » Fri Jul 24, 2009 7:21 am

Hi Jon,

Yes, that's fine for us. However, notice that current TeeChart for .NET version is 2009 (v4). You can download the evaluation version here:

http://www.steema.com/downloads/form_tch_net.html
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Post Reply