DrawLine with Custom Vert Axes
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 29
- Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:00 am
DrawLine with Custom Vert Axes
I have an application that uses TeeChart .NET v 3.5.3371.26406
I have the LEFT and RIGHT axes visibility turned off.
I have 6 customer vertical axes.
When I try to add a DrawLine tool to this graph, I can draw lines but only horizontal lines.
I cannot control the vertical location of the lines unless I am zoomed in.
If I zoom in, I can draw lines fine and can control the location of the endpoints in both the vertical and horizontal directions.
But when I zoom back out again, the lines lose their vertical component again and become flat horizontal lines.
How can I fix this problem?
What needs to be done to the vertical axis for the DrawLine tool to be able to work properly with the custom vertical axes?
Thanks.
Aaron
I have the LEFT and RIGHT axes visibility turned off.
I have 6 customer vertical axes.
When I try to add a DrawLine tool to this graph, I can draw lines but only horizontal lines.
I cannot control the vertical location of the lines unless I am zoomed in.
If I zoom in, I can draw lines fine and can control the location of the endpoints in both the vertical and horizontal directions.
But when I zoom back out again, the lines lose their vertical component again and become flat horizontal lines.
How can I fix this problem?
What needs to be done to the vertical axis for the DrawLine tool to be able to work properly with the custom vertical axes?
Thanks.
Aaron
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 29
- Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:00 am
Re: DrawLine with Custom Vert Axes
Ok, I have made a little progress.
If I have a data series on the graph that is plotted onto any of my cumstom vertical axes, I can assign that series to the .SERIES property of the DrawLine tool. That will allow the vertical component of the lines drawn to appear to work properly.
Is there an editor for the lines created with the DrawLine tool?
I am looking for a way to change the color of the line, the thickness of the line, the endcap (into an arrow) on the line and the thickness of that endcap to make a bigger, more visible arrow.
I can do these things programmatically (with the exception of making the arrow endcap bigger) but wanted to present the users with an editor if one existed.
I thought there might be an editor that I could pass the DrawLineTool.Selected item into so that the user could edit the properties on that specific line.
Thanks again.
Aaron
If I have a data series on the graph that is plotted onto any of my cumstom vertical axes, I can assign that series to the .SERIES property of the DrawLine tool. That will allow the vertical component of the lines drawn to appear to work properly.
Is there an editor for the lines created with the DrawLine tool?
I am looking for a way to change the color of the line, the thickness of the line, the endcap (into an arrow) on the line and the thickness of that endcap to make a bigger, more visible arrow.
I can do these things programmatically (with the exception of making the arrow endcap bigger) but wanted to present the users with an editor if one existed.
I thought there might be an editor that I could pass the DrawLineTool.Selected item into so that the user could edit the properties on that specific line.
Thanks again.
Aaron
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Re: DrawLine with Custom Vert Axes
Hi Aaron,
In that case this is most likely because your axes didn't have any range set. Probably setting axes minimum and maximum (for example using SetMinMax method) would also make this work.Ok, I have made a little progress.
If I have a data series on the graph that is plotted onto any of my cumstom vertical axes, I can assign that series to the .SERIES property of the DrawLine tool. That will allow the vertical component of the lines drawn to appear to work properly.
No, such editor doesn't exist. I'll add your request to the wish-list to be considered for inclusion in future releases.Is there an editor for the lines created with the DrawLine tool?
I am looking for a way to change the color of the line, the thickness of the line, the endcap (into an arrow) on the line and the thickness of that endcap to make a bigger, more visible arrow.
I can do these things programmatically (with the exception of making the arrow endcap bigger) but wanted to present the users with an editor if one existed.
I thought there might be an editor that I could pass the DrawLineTool.Selected item into so that the user could edit the properties on that specific line.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 29
- Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:00 am
Re: DrawLine with Custom Vert Axes
My axes are using the .Automatic setting of TRUE to allow TeeChart to determine what should be displayed based on the data available in the series.Narcís wrote: In that case this is most likely because your axes didn't have any range set. Probably setting axes minimum and maximum (for example using SetMinMax method) would also make this work.
My users do have the option to scale the axes manually to set specific min and max values on the axes but typically use the automatic setting to have TeeChart decide the range since it will always display the ranges needed to show all of the data added to the graph.
When the graph itself determines those ranges to be displayed, it does not set the min and max based on what it picked for the range?
I will have to take a look at my code to see how setting the Min and Max will impact the scaling and zooming that I have to handle.
Thanks for the information.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Re: DrawLine with Custom Vert Axes
Hi Aaron,
When axes are set to automatic Minimum and Maximum are being calculated after series are populated and according to series' values.
When axes are set to automatic Minimum and Maximum are being calculated after series are populated and according to series' values.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 29
- Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:00 am
Re: DrawLine with Custom Vert Axes
So if my custom vert axes are set to Automatic = true and I add series to the graph with one of those custom vertical axes as its vert axis, then the Min and Max for that custom axis should be set automatically by TeeChart?
I will have to double check to see what is happening then.
Because I only use my custom axes and they are all set to .Automatic = true by default and when I try to draw a line on my graph, there is no vertical component. So I'm not sure what is going on but it appears that the graph thinks the Min and Max are not set for my vert axis.
If the Min and Max are set for my custom vertical axis, I should not have to assoaciate a data series with the line I'm drawing correct?
I will have to double check to see what is happening then.
Because I only use my custom axes and they are all set to .Automatic = true by default and when I try to draw a line on my graph, there is no vertical component. So I'm not sure what is going on but it appears that the graph thinks the Min and Max are not set for my vert axis.
If the Min and Max are set for my custom vertical axis, I should not have to assoaciate a data series with the line I'm drawing correct?
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Re: DrawLine with Custom Vert Axes
Hi Aaron,
Yes. But with that I meant that your DrawLines will behave as you reported until you populate your series so that axes scales are set or you manually set their scales.So if my custom vert axes are set to Automatic = true and I add series to the graph with one of those custom vertical axes as its vert axis, then the Min and Max for that custom axis should be set automatically by TeeChart?
Yes, probably it wouldn't be necessary.If the Min and Max are set for my custom vertical axis, I should not have to assoaciate a data series with the line I'm drawing correct?
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 29
- Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:00 am
Re: DrawLine with Custom Vert Axes
But my series is already populated and drawn on the graph using one of my custom vertical axis BEFORE I am trying to draw a line on the graph.Narcís wrote:Yes. But with that I meant that your DrawLines will behave as you reported until you populate your series so that axes scales are set or you manually set their scales.
And yet, I still see the problem with the vertical portion of the line not drawing properly.
Re: DrawLine with Custom Vert Axes
Hi Aaron,
The problem probably is that your color line tool needs to have associated a series that uses a custom axis because, by default, it uses the Left and Bottom axis so, if you don't have one of them, the tool can't use it.
The problem probably is that your color line tool needs to have associated a series that uses a custom axis because, by default, it uses the Left and Bottom axis so, if you don't have one of them, the tool can't use it.
Best Regards,
Yeray Alonso Development & Support Steema Software Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP) | |
Please read our Bug Fixing Policy |
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 29
- Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:00 am
Re: DrawLine with Custom Vert Axes
This does appear to be the case.Yeray wrote:Hi Aaron,
The problem probably is that your color line tool needs to have associated a series that uses a custom axis because, by default, it uses the Left and Bottom axis so, if you don't have one of them, the tool can't use it.
Any chance we could add that to the wish list to allow the programmer to set the vertical axis assigned to the draw line tool ?
If I have series assigned to the Left axis, I don't have to associated my line tool with any particular series.
It would be nice to not have to do that assignment in any case.
Thanks for the help.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 14730
- Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
- Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
- Contact:
Re: DrawLine with Custom Vert Axes
Hi Aaron,
Sure! Just added it to the list.
Sure! Just added it to the list.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |