TeeChart for Java (NetBeans, Eclipse, Android Studio, etc)
-
mora
- Newbie
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:00 am
-
Contact:
Post
by mora » Mon Dec 10, 2012 10:53 am
Hi,
I prepared an example with my problem:
Code: Select all
import org.eclipse.swt.SWT;
import org.eclipse.swt.events.SelectionAdapter;
import org.eclipse.swt.events.SelectionEvent;
import org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Button;
import org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display;
import org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Shell;
public class TestTChart {
protected Shell shell;
public static void main(String[] args) {
try {
TestTChart window = new TestTChart();
window.open();
} catch (Exception e) {
e.printStackTrace();
}
}
public void open() {
Display display = new Display();
createContents();
shell.open();
shell.layout();
while (!shell.isDisposed()) {
if (!display.readAndDispatch()) {
display.sleep();
}
}
}
protected void createContents() {
shell = new Shell();
shell.setSize(450, 300);
shell.setText("SWT Application");
Button btnNewWindow = new Button(shell, SWT.NONE);
btnNewWindow.setBounds(85, 134, 68, 23);
btnNewWindow.setText("New window");
btnNewWindow.addSelectionListener(new SelectionAdapter() {
@Override
public void widgetSelected(SelectionEvent e) {
new AnotherTestTChart().open();
}
});
}
}
Code: Select all
import org.eclipse.swt.SWT;
import org.eclipse.swt.events.DisposeEvent;
import org.eclipse.swt.events.DisposeListener;
import org.eclipse.swt.layout.FillLayout;
import org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display;
import org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Listener;
import org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Shell;
import com.steema.teechart.TChart;
public class AnotherTestTChart {
protected Shell shell;
public void open() {
Display display = Display.getDefault();
createContents();
shell.open();
shell.layout();
while (!shell.isDisposed()) {
if (!display.readAndDispatch()) {
display.sleep();
}
}
}
protected void createContents() {
shell = new Shell();
shell.setSize(450, 300);
shell.setText("SWT Application");
shell.setLayout(new FillLayout());
new TChart(shell, SWT.NONE);
}
}
In this example, I create one chart. After closing a window with a chart in memory stay 3 links on this chart and GC can not release resources. How can I solve this problem?
-
Yeray
- Site Admin
- Posts: 9612
- Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
- Location: Girona, Catalonia
-
Contact:
Post
by Yeray » Mon Dec 10, 2012 2:56 pm
Hi mora,
mora wrote:In this example, I create one chart. After closing a window with a chart in memory stay 3 links on this chart and GC can not release resources. How can I solve this problem?
Could you please explain how are you detecting it? We should reproduce it so we can try to find a solution.
-
mora
- Newbie
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:00 am
-
Contact:
Post
by mora » Tue Dec 11, 2012 7:20 am
I'm using a VisualVM 1.3.5 for profiling. Take a look at the following pictures:
1. Before opening the window with a chart
2. A chart is created (and five links on it)
3. The window is closed and GC is called
-
Attachments
-
- Before opening the window with a chart
- 1.png (60.22 KiB) Viewed 33515 times
-
- A chart is created (and five links on it)
- 2.png (73.64 KiB) Viewed 33527 times
-
- The window is closed and GC is called
- 3.png (63.06 KiB) Viewed 33520 times
-
Yeray
- Site Admin
- Posts: 9612
- Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
- Location: Girona, Catalonia
-
Contact:
Post
by Yeray » Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:19 am
Hi mora,
This is just to let you know we haven't forgotten this.
We'll be back to you here as soon as we'll get some conclusions.
-
mora
- Newbie
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:00 am
-
Contact:
Post
by mora » Fri Jan 04, 2013 8:21 am
Hello Yearay
there are now some weeks over since I got last feedback.
Our project with external developers is now stopped because we can not use the software in this way.
Our project is a permanent visualization of thickness measurements of films and should run stable for weeks and months. Break of the software will lead to a break of production.
-
Yeray
- Site Admin
- Posts: 9612
- Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
- Location: Girona, Catalonia
-
Contact:
Post
by Yeray » Fri Jan 04, 2013 10:51 am
Hello mora,
I'd like to apologize for the delay here and the inconvenience generated.
The good news are that we've found what seems to be the cause of the problem. We are currently investigating the best way to fix it.
I hope we can send you a test version in the next days.
-
Yeray
- Site Admin
- Posts: 9612
- Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
- Location: Girona, Catalonia
-
Contact:
Post
by Yeray » Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:22 pm
Hi again Hubert,
I'm glad to tell you we've been able to fix the issue.
I'll send the modified unit (TChart.java) to the mail account you have registered in this forum.
-
mora
- Newbie
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:00 am
-
Contact:
Post
by mora » Mon Jan 07, 2013 8:48 am
Hi Yeray
thx so lot. I've tested the new TChart and seems to work fine. But as I could see there are other changes since the last version we have.
Is it possible to get a new build of the Java version of Thchart, means new jars?
Regards
Hubert
-
Yeray
- Site Admin
- Posts: 9612
- Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
- Location: Girona, Catalonia
-
Contact:
Post
by Yeray » Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:42 pm
Hi Hubert,
I hope we can publish a new maintenance release soon.
-
mora
- Newbie
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:00 am
-
Contact:
Post
by mora » Mon Jan 07, 2013 1:06 pm
Yeray wrote:Hi again Hubert,
I'm glad to tell you we've been able to fix the issue.
I'll send the modified unit (TChart.java) to the mail account you have registered in this forum.
-
mora
- Newbie
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:00 am
-
Contact:
Post
by mora » Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:54 am
Hi Yeray
have you any plan when the new release will be published?
-
Yeray
- Site Admin
- Posts: 9612
- Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
- Location: Girona, Catalonia
-
Contact:
Post
by Yeray » Tue Jan 22, 2013 11:52 am
Hi mora,
mora wrote:have you any plan when the new release will be published?
I hope we can publish a new maintenance release soon but I'm afraid I can't tell you a date for it.
Doesn't the corrected TChart.java allow you to get a working environment for you?
-
mora
- Newbie
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:00 am
-
Contact:
Post
by mora » Wed Jan 23, 2013 6:34 am
Hi Yeray
thx for your answer. I'm awaiting the new release.
Because we have only one global class for charts, derived from TChart, and took the new TChart class into our project, it's quite feasible to work a short time without a complete new jar. But it would be better (for further updates) to have it full integrated into the oficial jar.
Hubert
-
mora
- Newbie
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:00 am
-
Contact:
Post
by mora » Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:30 pm
Hi Yeray,
unfortunately, there's more leaks in Java version of TChart. It's still reproducible with the simple example above.
You can add the GDI Objects column to Task Manager to watch GDI object usage. I prefer to use free GDIView (to get a little bit more information).
After we close a window with a TChart instance, in the memory stay unreleased GDI-Objects. In VisualVM we can observ a lot of classes from the teechart package (Colors, Cursors, Rectangles, etc).
-
Yeray
- Site Admin
- Posts: 9612
- Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
- Location: Girona, Catalonia
-
Contact:
Post
by Yeray » Tue Mar 12, 2013 8:36 am