ColorGrid series uses huge amount of memory

TeeChart for Microsoft Visual Studio .NET, Xamarin Studio (Android, iOS & Forms) & Monodevelop.
Post Reply
natallyk
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:00 am

ColorGrid series uses huge amount of memory

Post by natallyk » Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:08 pm

Hi,
We are using ColorGrid series to display our data. It appears, that the series is allocating a lot of memory. This makes its usage hardly feasible.
I am attaching a test project together with screen shots from the profiler.
What we found, is that TChart is allocating 20000 int per each x value. 500 point chart allocates 10,000,000 instances of int. Plus other objects.
The chart takes up about 155M.
It does not seem to depend on number y or z values.

We need charts of about 1000 points, and several of those (at least 4).
We tried the surface series, but the situation is similar.
Please advice.

Thank you.
Attachments
TestApp_500x10x50_path.png
Profiler screen shot - path
TestApp_500x10x50_path.png (160.62 KiB) Viewed 7563 times
TestApp_500x10x50.png
Profiler screen shot
TestApp_500x10x50.png (163.2 KiB) Viewed 7560 times
ColorGridTest.zip
Tets project
(20.93 KiB) Downloaded 399 times

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: ColorGrid series uses huge amount of memory

Post by Sandra » Thu Jan 17, 2013 2:31 pm

Hello natallyk,

I have reviewed your code and first recommendations is that you take a look in next link where explain as you treat correctly the grids when you work with TeeChart controls, because I have realized that you didn't create the grid correctly, so, You must define your grid as a similar way as explain in the link.Could you tell us if using my suggestion your problem persist?

I hope will helps.

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

natallyk
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:00 am

Re: ColorGrid series uses huge amount of memory

Post by natallyk » Sat Jan 19, 2013 12:05 am

Hi,
Thank you for your reply.
I am not sure was exactly is wrong in the way we treat the grid.
In the explanation which the link points to, the suggestion is:
for x:=0 to 10 do
for z:=0 to 5 do
Series1.AddXYZ(x,random,z);

Well, we had for loop for the z variable as the inner loop. I changed it to be as below. The resulting grid is the same as before - 500x10, which is the idea exactly. (500 columns, 10 rows)
The resulting memory consumption is exactly as in the example I sent before.
The suggestion does not help. Or we misunderstood it.

for(int x = 0; x < 500; x++)
{
for(int z = 0; z < 10; z++)
{
for (int y = 0; y < 50; y++)
{
this.colorGrid1.Add(x, y, z);
}
}
}

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: ColorGrid series uses huge amount of memory

Post by Sandra » Tue Jan 22, 2013 3:19 pm

Hello natallyk,

Ok. We have fixed your problem for next maintenance release. I recommend you to be aware at this forum, our RSS news feed, twitter and facebook accounts for new release announcements and what's implemented on them.


Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

natallyk
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:00 am

Re: ColorGrid series uses huge amount of memory

Post by natallyk » Tue Jan 22, 2013 11:52 pm

Thanks you!
Do you mean it is fixed in an upcoming maintenance release or in one that is already out?
Could we please have ETA in the first case or the release version in the second?

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: ColorGrid series uses huge amount of memory

Post by Sandra » Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:35 am

Hello natallyk,
Do you mean it is fixed in an upcoming maintenance release or in one that is already out?
The problem is fixed for next maintenance release we will be published.
Could we please have ETA in the first case or the release version in the second?
I can't provide you a estimate date when next release will be published. As told you in previous post, I recommend you to be aware at this forum, our RSS news feed, twitter and facebook accounts for new release announcements and what's implemented on them.
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Post Reply