Generally disable the new "hover" effect of 2014.12
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 60
- Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 12:00 am
Generally disable the new "hover" effect of 2014.12
Hi there.
The new 2014.12 release of TeeChart comes with a new "hover" effect (see: New and Improved Features). As cool as it is, it is a too drastic change in behaviour (and performance, for some type of charts). While I'll happily be using it for new stuff, I'd like to turn it off for existing projects - Thus keeping the current behaviour.
This way, I'm a bit unhappy the hover effect is on by default. How would I best go about turning it off, by default? Should I best crawl through all my TChart-objects and turn and set Hover.Visible to False? If yes, where? The OnFormCreate-event, the OnActive-event? The constructor of the TForm itself?
Or would it be better to edit the TeeChart source and recompile it?
Many thanks in advance.
The new 2014.12 release of TeeChart comes with a new "hover" effect (see: New and Improved Features). As cool as it is, it is a too drastic change in behaviour (and performance, for some type of charts). While I'll happily be using it for new stuff, I'd like to turn it off for existing projects - Thus keeping the current behaviour.
This way, I'm a bit unhappy the hover effect is on by default. How would I best go about turning it off, by default? Should I best crawl through all my TChart-objects and turn and set Hover.Visible to False? If yes, where? The OnFormCreate-event, the OnActive-event? The constructor of the TForm itself?
Or would it be better to edit the TeeChart source and recompile it?
Many thanks in advance.
Re: Generally disable the new "hover" effect of 2014.12
Hi Jens,
I've created a new ticket in the public tracker:
http://bugs.teechart.net/show_bug.cgi?id=958
In the meanwhile you could call this at onCreate/onShow:
Of course, modifying the TeeChart sources is also a valid option for those who own them.
I've created a new ticket in the public tracker:
http://bugs.teechart.net/show_bug.cgi?id=958
In the meanwhile you could call this at onCreate/onShow:
Code: Select all
Chart1.Hover.Visible := False;
Best Regards,
Yeray Alonso Development & Support Steema Software Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP) | |
Please read our Bug Fixing Policy |
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 60
- Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 12:00 am
Re: Generally disable the new "hover" effect of 2014.12
Although I can understand, I'm still not happy the way it is now. I will have to write code which targets the exact release of 2014.12- For every existing project in the company. For every chart that's already on a form, and for every chart that is dynamically generated.We can't consider this as a bug to be fixed. It's a new feature important enough to be enabled by default.
Do you still have plans for introducing something like a "global" variable that let's me control whether Hover is enabled or not? This way, one would only have to set this variable once.
Re: Generally disable the new "hover" effect of 2014.12
Hi Jens,
I'm sorry for the inconvenience this change generates but we haven't found a way to include such a global variable/property. Note TeeChart VCL/FMX now targets systems that don't have a registry so we can't use it. Also, it would behave differently depending on the machine's registry where final application will run on.jens.mertelmeyer wrote: Although I can understand, I'm still not happy the way it is now. I will have to write code which targets the exact release of 2014.12- For every existing project in the company. For every chart that's already on a form, and for every chart that is dynamically generated.
Do you still have plans for introducing something like a "global" variable that let's me control whether Hover is enabled or not? This way, one would only have to set this variable once.
Best Regards,
Yeray Alonso Development & Support Steema Software Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP) | |
Please read our Bug Fixing Policy |
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 60
- Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 12:00 am
Re: Generally disable the new "hover" effect of 2014.12
I probably made it sound too complicated. I see there are already some "global" variables that seem very similar: TeEngine.TeeAxisClickCap: Integer, for example. It "Determines the amount in pixels that is allowed when clicking near an Axis to trigger selection of the axis."
I am now asking for something like TeeNewlyCreatedChartsHaveHoverEnabled: Boolean
So the only modification you'd have to make would be
This way, I could simply set that variable to False before creating my forms.
I am now asking for something like TeeNewlyCreatedChartsHaveHoverEnabled: Boolean
So the only modification you'd have to make would be
- introduce that variable somewhere
- check this variable in the constructor of a TChart component. If it's True (default), then set Hover enabled. If it's false, set Hover to disabled.
This way, I could simply set that variable to False before creating my forms.
Re: Generally disable the new "hover" effect of 2014.12
Hi Jens,
A private variable in TeEngine.pas could only be modified by SourceCode customers. And SourceCode customers already can modify the sources. Ie adding Visible:=False at TTeeHover.Create:
And making this property public means users should still set it for each chart.
So I don't see where would be the gain.
A private variable in TeEngine.pas could only be modified by SourceCode customers. And SourceCode customers already can modify the sources. Ie adding Visible:=False at TTeeHover.Create:
Code: Select all
Constructor TTeeHover.Create(const AOwner: TCustomTeePanel);
begin
//...
Visible:=false;
end;
So I don't see where would be the gain.
Best Regards,
Yeray Alonso Development & Support Steema Software Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP) | |
Please read our Bug Fixing Policy |
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 60
- Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 12:00 am
Re: Generally disable the new "hover" effect of 2014.12
No, why? Take the example you posted. Replace the hardcoded "False" with a public class variable "HoverGloballyEnabled". Done.Yeray wrote:And making this property public means users should still set it for each chart.
This way, annoying persons like me just need to set a single variable once. They now have their very own personal default value for hovering.
Re: Generally disable the new "hover" effect of 2014.12
Hello Jens,
We will consider the inclusion your request in future versions. Also, An alternative, as a possibility, could be for you to setup a Chart initialise routine that creates and returns your Chart with any Settings that you wish to assign to it at creation time; in this case hover-off.
Thanks in advance,
We will consider the inclusion your request in future versions. Also, An alternative, as a possibility, could be for you to setup a Chart initialise routine that creates and returns your Chart with any Settings that you wish to assign to it at creation time; in this case hover-off.
Thanks in advance,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
Re: Generally disable the new "hover" effect of 2014.12
... and how would I do that in c++ per chart? I didn't find any method to set the Hover option to FALSE.
Any help is appreciated. Thanks!
Any help is appreciated. Thanks!
Re: Generally disable the new "hover" effect of 2014.12
Hello,
This works for me:mch wrote:how would I do that in c++ per chart? I didn't find any method to set the Hover option to FALSE.
Code: Select all
Chart1->Hover->Visible=false;
Best Regards,
Yeray Alonso Development & Support Steema Software Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP) | |
Please read our Bug Fixing Policy |
Re: Generally disable the new "hover" effect of 2014.12
Hi,
Thanks for the quick reply but there is no Hover() method nor Hover member in CTChart class...
In case you didn't catch it, I am using C++.
Thanks
Thanks for the quick reply but there is no Hover() method nor Hover member in CTChart class...
In case you didn't catch it, I am using C++.
Thanks
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 12:00 am
Re: Generally disable the new "hover" effect of 2014.12
It works fine for me with 2014.12 in CPP Builder. The TChart has a member called "Hover".
Re: Generally disable the new "hover" effect of 2014.12
It's working now. I had to generate the CHover class file from the ocx, add the GetHover() method from the CTChart class.
Why weren't the hover.h file included in "Steema Software\TeeChart Pro v2015 ActiveX Control\Utilities\New VC Classes" folder originally? It would have saved me all the digging.
Thanks for all the help!
Why weren't the hover.h file included in "Steema Software\TeeChart Pro v2015 ActiveX Control\Utilities\New VC Classes" folder originally? It would have saved me all the digging.
Thanks for all the help!
Re: Generally disable the new "hover" effect of 2014.12
Hi,
Can u plz help me to generate CHover class in TeeChart2015?If possible please upload the chover class.
Can u plz help me to generate CHover class in TeeChart2015?If possible please upload the chover class.
Re: Generally disable the new "hover" effect of 2014.12
Hello,
If you are using TeeChart ActiveX, I'd suggest you to post your questions in the ActiveX forum here.
Please note this is the VCL forum. That's why I assumed you were using TeeChart VCL in C++Builder.mch wrote:Thanks for the quick reply but there is no Hover() method nor Hover member in CTChart class...
In case you didn't catch it, I am using C++.
If you are using TeeChart ActiveX, I'd suggest you to post your questions in the ActiveX forum here.
It wasn't included in TeeChart ActiveX v2015.0.0.2 by mistake, but it was corrected and included with v2015.0.0.3.mch wrote:It's working now. I had to generate the CHover class file from the ocx, add the GetHover() method from the CTChart class.
Why weren't the hover.h file included in "Steema Software\TeeChart Pro v2015 ActiveX Control\Utilities\New VC Classes" folder originally? It would have saved me all the digging.
Are you using TeeChart ActiveX v2015.0.0.3? Can you try it?star_it wrote:Can u plz help me to generate CHover class in TeeChart2015?If possible please upload the chover class.
Best Regards,
Yeray Alonso Development & Support Steema Software Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP) | |
Please read our Bug Fixing Policy |