Gradient Area

TeeChart for Microsoft Visual Studio .NET, Xamarin Studio (Android, iOS & Forms) & Monodevelop.
Post Reply
UserLS
Advanced
Posts: 247
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 12:00 am

Gradient Area

Post by UserLS » Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 pm

Using your editor, create an area series, set its gradient.visible = true and try to set the direction to "from center". I am running your latest version of TChart v3 and it blows up for me...

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9612
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Gradient Area

Post by Yeray » Tue Nov 03, 2009 12:39 pm

Hi UserLS,

Is the following code doing what you are describing?

Code: Select all

            Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Area area1 = new Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Area(tChart1.Chart);
            area1.FillSampleValues(10);
            area1.Gradient.Visible = true;
            area1.Gradient.Style.Visible = true;
            area1.Gradient.Style.Direction = Steema.TeeChart.Drawing.PathGradientMode.FromCenter;            
Here it seems to work fine with the actual sources for both v3 and v4 (v2009).
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

UserLS
Advanced
Posts: 247
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 12:00 am

Re: Gradient Area

Post by UserLS » Tue Nov 03, 2009 1:44 pm

I am not sure about the code sample, but should I be able to do it using an editor? My problem is that my users are not going to write code, they instead, are setting up graphs using editor!

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9612
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Gradient Area

Post by Yeray » Tue Nov 03, 2009 4:17 pm

Hi UserLS,

First of all, note that the editor was designed for programmers help more than for final user's use.

We need to know a consistent way to reproduce the problems before we can analyze them and find how to fix them. That's why I tried to reproduce it in a simple snipped of code.
If you can't prepare a simple snipped of code, please try to explain the exact steps to follow to reproduce the crash from a clean chart.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

UserLS
Advanced
Posts: 247
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 12:00 am

Re: Gradient Area

Post by UserLS » Tue Nov 03, 2009 5:29 pm

Finally I've managed to run it under the latest version (your installer for it is just a mess!) and it is not a problem anymore.
As to your editor, that is true, it is not designed for use by anyone (even your own people asked me, where I found a check-box on it). So, what you would suggest as alternative? Because my users do need to be able to go in and adjust graph's properties.

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9612
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Gradient Area

Post by Yeray » Wed Nov 04, 2009 9:25 am

Hi UserLS,
So, what you would suggest as alternative? Because my users do need to be able to go in and adjust graph's properties.
You have the possibility to use our editor hiding the tabs you wish as in the demo at All Features\Welcome !\Components\ChartController\ChartController Editor
You can also call some particular editors. For example the printer preview, some tools editors, pens editors,...
And if that doesn't fit your needs, you always can create your own editors to fully control what each action does.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

UserLS
Advanced
Posts: 247
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 12:00 am

Re: Gradient Area

Post by UserLS » Wed Nov 04, 2009 1:52 pm

Well, couple problems here:
first, your series editor, besides other ugly problems, does not allow hiding tabs (General, Data and Marks are the ones I cannot show for different reasons)
second, for example, your brush editor is a perfect example of how not to design your UI
third, why have an editor at all, if it is not designed to be used?

Post Reply