How to draw on top of a chart

TeeChart for Microsoft Visual Studio .NET, Xamarin Studio (Android, iOS & Forms) & Monodevelop.
Post Reply
Joonas_v
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 12:00 am

How to draw on top of a chart

Post by Joonas_v » Fri May 06, 2011 9:37 am

Hi.

I'm using TeeChart in a Windows Forms application. I have a chart with a very dense grid. This makes the rendering of the chart very slow. This wouldn't matter much if I only needed to render the chart once. But I suspect that every time the user scrolls the chart or draws something on top of it using tools such as DrawLine or RectangleTool, the chart gets re-rendered. So the user experiences significant lag when trying to interact with the chart.

Is there any way to avoid the redrawing the whole chart and just to draw the tools on top of the existing chart?

-Joonas

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: How to draw on top of a chart

Post by Sandra » Fri May 06, 2011 11:49 am

Joonas_v

Could you send us a simple project so we can reproduce exactly your problem here and try to find a good solution for you?

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Joonas_v
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 12:00 am

Re: How to draw on top of a chart

Post by Joonas_v » Fri May 06, 2011 1:06 pm

Here's an example:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3632362/TeeChartTest.zip

If you try to scroll with the right mouse button or draw a DrawLine with the left, they work really slow.

-Joonas

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: How to draw on top of a chart

Post by Sandra » Mon May 09, 2011 12:03 pm

Hello Joonas,

Thank you for your project. I can reproduce it here and I have added in bug report list with number [TF02015562]. We will try to fix it to next maintenance releases of TeeChart.Net

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Commit
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 12:00 am

Re: How to draw on top of a chart

Post by Commit » Mon Jun 27, 2011 1:21 pm

Do you have any estimates when the next release is going to be out and this issue fixed?
More specifically, we would like to know if it is going to be more or less than one month from now.

Best,
Tapani
Commit; Oy

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: How to draw on top of a chart

Post by Sandra » Thu Jun 30, 2011 2:47 pm

Hello Commit,

I inform that bug with number (TF02015562) is not a bug. we have done many test on several machines and this behavior is not reproducible in all. It depends of the video card and the number of pixels as you want draw, so the drawline tool repaints every time it is moved and the bigger you make the chart, the more pixels have to be drawn and the slower it is.

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Post Reply